Homemade Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is a great recipe, just be sure to take your time and make sure you beat the egg whites to the proper consistency for the best results, light and fluffy cake! I made a slight modification in mine: in addition to the 1 tsp vanilla, I added an extra 1/2 tsp vanilla (used part artificial vanilla/part natural vanilla extract) and I added about 1/2 tsp almond extract as well. The results are great, I shared it with my coworkers recently, and now am making it for the 2nd time just this week, per request! Our oldest employee, at age 79, says it's the best she has ever had :) I serve this with sliced strawberries and homemade whipped cream but it is so good that it's just as delicious by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I made this cake for my daughter's 1st birthday today. It raised alot more than I expected it to, but was delicious, moist, and very fluffy. I forgot to put the vanilla in...oops...and put a little less confectioners sugar in, but the sugared strawberry topping I made to go along with it made up for it. This is the first angel food cake I have made that turned out this good and didn't fall! Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Wonderful! Turned out perfectly! I have never made an angel food cake before and had no idea what to expect. The 18 egg whites surprised me a little, but it was well worth it! For all those others out there who are new at angel food cakes, do NOT grease the pan. I greased the bottom of mine and that was the only problem I had. Where I greased the pan the cake stuck and where I didn't it did not stick, but that was my fault. Follow the recipe exactly and don't grease the pan, and you will have a perfectly fluffy and moist angel food cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Absolutely the best ever. People always ask for piece to take home, if there is any left over! Use the egg yolks to make creme brulee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by allheart
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was awesome! I used a 500g carton of egg whites, was just 4 Tbsp shy of 18 eggs, I didn't add the extra eggs and it was just fine. I would suggest getting it into the oven asap, mine was left out for about 35 minutes before going in the oven so it fell a little. All in all it was the whitest, softest, not spongy best angel food cake I have ever tasted! A big hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allheart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I've made angel food cakes before and this one turned out great.I used almond flavoring instead of vanilla but otherwise I followed the recipe. For those of you who've never made angel food, take the previous advice about not greasing the pan. Also I did not add the flour all at once. I added it in fourths and folded it in by doing 2 deep folds with a spatula then turning the bowl a quarter turn. When you take it out of the oven you should invert it until it's totally cool. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
The only thing I would add, is to mix the dry ingredients in slowly with a spatula. "Fold" in everything slowly to keep the mixture foamy. Also, cool your cake upside down or it'll deflate. I put three cups out beforehand, spacing them apart with the empty cake tray, then I can immediately take the cake out of the oven and set it upside down on the cups. You can also cool the cake upside down using a wine bottle with a neck that's smaller than the hole in your cake tin. Just slip it over the top of the bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe is great! It also makes 2 cakes for me, I dont know why. I have very old fashioned bunt pans so maybe they arent as deep as the more modern ones. The cake freezes well and thaws in a snap for quick hosting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Absolutely perfect! I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful. I am so excited as this was my first attempt. The only thing that differed was the time....only thirty five minutes in my oven at 350 degrees. Glad I was watching it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Amazing! Made it for a party last night and everyone loved it. Very moist and light. I added a teaspoon of almond extract and another 2 of amaretto. Served it with low fat ice cream and berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States