Homemade Albondigas Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cynthia Figueroa
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Very easy to fix, my family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Figueroa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Loved it. Family loved it. I tweaked it a little. I added 1/4 cup of rice to the meat balls. And a 1/2 cup of rice to the broth. I also added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce to broth. I think it's as close as to the way my mother made it. I call it Maria 's Albondigas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Owen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a good recipe and I followed it exactly, but I needed to add some cumin to give it that Mexican soup flavor. Also, I cooked the carrots, onion, celery in a Dutch oven, just to soften a bit, added the chicken stock and once it got to a boil added the meatballs and potatoes. Used dried cilantro instead of fresh too. Delicious!!! I added some leftover white rice to the meatballs to act as a binding agent, they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by googirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Was amazingly delicious,my family and i enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte alves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was delicious. After reading the reviews I decided to add 1/4 cup uncooked jasmine rice to the meatballs. I also added 1 jalapeno to the soup. I think I cut the potatoes too small because they pretty much fell apart when I stirred the soup to serve it(I cut the potato in half lengthwise, then half again lenghtwise and then in 3 cubes...they were pretty big but I guess not big enough). I would cut the potatoes larger next time and maybe boil the meatballs in a little bit of water before adding to the soup (some of them fell apart as well). The soup was delicious though! Great left over as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
While I am of Greek and Italian Extraction I would be remiss if I did not say that the Mexican's nailed it on this one. There's room for so many variations and each time I cook or just eat it...well...its amazing how much I really really really enjoy this culinary delight. I Cr 13:8a, Love never fails ! (NKJV)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny Cee
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jenkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This recipe is excellent, however I do cheat in order to easily make it after a long work day as a healthy family meal. I buy premade, low fat angus steak meatballs that are kept in the freezer. I use a little olive oil to fry up a couple of onions, add the carrots and then the celery. Then I add the no salt added broth, the potatoes, frozen meatballs and bring to boil and simmer. Add pepper to taste. Finally I add either frozen spinach and cook for a few more minutes or fresh spinach 5 minutes to serving. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Easy and delicious! Dumped half a jar of pace and some extra bullion during simmering and mexican rice to add to the finished product. This is my new rainy day go to, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Perfect! Added cumin, raw rice, red pepper flakes, bay leaf and chopped tomatoes. So delicious! Also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States