Homefried Potatoes with Garlic and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
My family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Batesburg-Leesville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
tha potatoes waz off tha chain.the bacon went so good with it. yes zir hiz waz a good recipe -will b usin again 4 sho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I've made this three times and it was a HUGE hit each time! I also mince 2 or 3 cloves of garlic and use an entire onion. The last time I made it I used olive oil and skipped the bacon. The bacon is absolutely devine, but in the best interest of health...I opted out and they were STILL a HUGE hit! I served them as written, with bacon to go with "Simple Country Ribs" another can't go wrong recipe and some cole slaw for a football game dinner with friends. Every morsel was enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
All I can Say is WOW! Im not to fond of fried potatoes but I fixed myself 2 helpings of this! The bacon gave it the best flavor I have ever tasted on fried potatoes! I will defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very good. I drained off some of the bacon fat before putting in potatoes and wished I had drained of a least half of the bacon drippings. I followed another viewers recommendation and precooked the potatoes and it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Haughey Coffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Was extremely yummy!!! The only thing I did different was put garlic, instead of garlic powder and topped it with sour cream. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is the best breakfast potato recipe I have made. I only altered a bit. I microwaved the potatoes for 6 minutes on high after I had sliced them. I used fresh garlic (3 small cloves) crushed. I cooked the onion and garlic in the grease for about 3 minutes before adding the potatoes. I added Tony's creole seasoning. I cooked for about 15 minutes more, then drained off all the excess grease. Then I cooked for 10 more minutes until about half of the potatoes were browned. Excellent. I would recommend using a very good sized, deep frying pan. If I had used a bigger (diameter) pan, more of the potatoes would have browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I make this all the time and its amazing but...you NEED to precook the potatoes! Boil them for 15 min., then add them to the fried onion in the pan. It won't be too greasy that way. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
We are garlic lovers so I added some garlic cloves and used the whole onion. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
These potatoes were fantastic. I didn't make the recipe exactly, because I didn't have some of the ingredients. I used granulated garlic with some black pepper. (I didn't have the garlic pepper seasoning) I also added some salt to taste. This recipe is going into my recipe box. Thanks so much. It is such a wonderful addition to everything else I make at breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieTheMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon

Potatoes, bacon, cheese...need we say more?

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States