Homefried Potatoes with Garlic and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
for everyone complaining about too much grease: use less bacon or more potatoes. for everyone complaining about undercooked potatoes: cut them up smaller. for everyone complaining about overcooked onions (and undercooked potatoes): turn the heat down on the stove. the knob has more than just "on" and "off" settings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is the best breakfast potato recipe I have made. I only altered a bit. I microwaved the potatoes for 6 minutes on high after I had sliced them. I used fresh garlic (3 small cloves) crushed. I cooked the onion and garlic in the grease for about 3 minutes before adding the potatoes. I added Tony's creole seasoning. I cooked for about 15 minutes more, then drained off all the excess grease. Then I cooked for 10 more minutes until about half of the potatoes were browned. Excellent. I would recommend using a very good sized, deep frying pan. If I had used a bigger (diameter) pan, more of the potatoes would have browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I make this all the time and its amazing but...you NEED to precook the potatoes! Boil them for 15 min., then add them to the fried onion in the pan. It won't be too greasy that way. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Okay, the flavors are great, but this recipe needs a few small changes in order to work. I found I had far too much grease after cooking the bacon and poured some off before adding the potatoes, and my onions burnt after 20 minutes in the pan. I'm giving this a three, because I'll definitely try it again - adding the onions 10 minutes into the cooking time, adding some salt and fresh pepper, and more potatoes/less bacon grease. A good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
These tasted pretty good but they did not get at all crispy. Also, there was no way the onion could fry for 20 mins without getting totally burned, so I threw it in about 6 mins til the end of the cooking time. Finally, have plenty of kitchen paper ready to absorb all the bacon grease. I'll probably try this again but with cubed potato. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
These taters were really delish MUZIKGUY and the family loved them! I added bell pepper to the mix along with more seasonings and to make to make cooking time a bit quicker, I popped the spuds into the microwave first, peeled, sliced and tossed them into the skillet. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
These were SO FREAKIN GOOD! I made them to go with out Labor Day steaks and 6 people were supposed to show up and only 1 did. Still, all the taters got eaten!! I didn't have garlic pepper seasoning so I just used salt, pepper, garlic and a little chili to make them pretty, and they were PERFECT! This is my new go-to for fried potatoes! Can't wait to try them with eggs for breakfast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very good. I drained off some of the bacon fat before putting in potatoes and wished I had drained of a least half of the bacon drippings. I followed another viewers recommendation and precooked the potatoes and it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Haughey Coffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
made this dish (homefried potatoes w/ garlic and bacon ) w/BBQ-ribs on the grill,small family get together, everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
These were pretty good but even after draining on paper towels they were still just a bit greasy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States