Homefried Potatoes with Garlic and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
made this dish (homefried potatoes w/ garlic and bacon ) w/BBQ-ribs on the grill,small family get together, everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
These taters were really delish MUZIKGUY and the family loved them! I added bell pepper to the mix along with more seasonings and to make to make cooking time a bit quicker, I popped the spuds into the microwave first, peeled, sliced and tossed them into the skillet. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
My family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Batesburg-Leesville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
These tasted pretty good but they did not get at all crispy. Also, there was no way the onion could fry for 20 mins without getting totally burned, so I threw it in about 6 mins til the end of the cooking time. Finally, have plenty of kitchen paper ready to absorb all the bacon grease. I'll probably try this again but with cubed potato. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
These were pretty good but even after draining on paper towels they were still just a bit greasy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
tha potatoes waz off tha chain.the bacon went so good with it. yes zir hiz waz a good recipe -will b usin again 4 sho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I've made this three times and it was a HUGE hit each time! I also mince 2 or 3 cloves of garlic and use an entire onion. The last time I made it I used olive oil and skipped the bacon. The bacon is absolutely devine, but in the best interest of health...I opted out and they were STILL a HUGE hit! I served them as written, with bacon to go with "Simple Country Ribs" another can't go wrong recipe and some cole slaw for a football game dinner with friends. Every morsel was enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
All I can Say is WOW! Im not to fond of fried potatoes but I fixed myself 2 helpings of this! The bacon gave it the best flavor I have ever tasted on fried potatoes! I will defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very good. I drained off some of the bacon fat before putting in potatoes and wished I had drained of a least half of the bacon drippings. I followed another viewers recommendation and precooked the potatoes and it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Haughey Coffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Was extremely yummy!!! The only thing I did different was put garlic, instead of garlic powder and topped it with sour cream. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States