Homefried Potatoes with Garlic and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Absolutely fantastic! My family loves this recipe & we will NEVER have the frozen ore ida potatoes obrien again! very easy to make even though I made a few changes: I added a few cloves of fresh garlic, also used 1/4 of a red onion & 1/4 of a yellow onion. also added 1/4 of a red & 1/4 of a green bell pepper. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlyMcSparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These are delicious! I drained off a good amount of the bacon grease as well - there was a lot in the pan after frying the bacon. Someone topped it with sour cream?? That I will have to try - yum! I sliced my potatoes medium-thin and they were done in 20 mins along w/ the onions and fresh garlic I put in. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
The next time I make it, I will drain all but 2T of bacon grease before adding the onions and potatoes. Other than that, it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
These potatoes were fantastic. I didn't make the recipe exactly, because I didn't have some of the ingredients. I used granulated garlic with some black pepper. (I didn't have the garlic pepper seasoning) I also added some salt to taste. This recipe is going into my recipe box. Thanks so much. It is such a wonderful addition to everything else I make at breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieTheMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
We are garlic lovers so I added some garlic cloves and used the whole onion. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I make this all the time and its amazing but...you NEED to precook the potatoes! Boil them for 15 min., then add them to the fried onion in the pan. It won't be too greasy that way. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is the best breakfast potato recipe I have made. I only altered a bit. I microwaved the potatoes for 6 minutes on high after I had sliced them. I used fresh garlic (3 small cloves) crushed. I cooked the onion and garlic in the grease for about 3 minutes before adding the potatoes. I added Tony's creole seasoning. I cooked for about 15 minutes more, then drained off all the excess grease. Then I cooked for 10 more minutes until about half of the potatoes were browned. Excellent. I would recommend using a very good sized, deep frying pan. If I had used a bigger (diameter) pan, more of the potatoes would have browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Okay, the flavors are great, but this recipe needs a few small changes in order to work. I found I had far too much grease after cooking the bacon and poured some off before adding the potatoes, and my onions burnt after 20 minutes in the pan. I'm giving this a three, because I'll definitely try it again - adding the onions 10 minutes into the cooking time, adding some salt and fresh pepper, and more potatoes/less bacon grease. A good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Was extremely yummy!!! The only thing I did different was put garlic, instead of garlic powder and topped it with sour cream. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very good. I drained off some of the bacon fat before putting in potatoes and wished I had drained of a least half of the bacon drippings. I followed another viewers recommendation and precooked the potatoes and it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Haughey Coffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States