Homefried Potatoes with Garlic and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I've cooked potatoes like this for years. The only thing I do differently is use fresh garlic and pepper instead of garlic pepper seasoning. This is also a great way to use up leftover baked potatoes, and I always cook extra baked potatoes so I can fix these for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I make these spuds with several variations, and mostly for breakfast. If you'll score the potatoes around the middle and place in a plastic bag before microwaving them........the peeling comes off very easily under some cold running water. Then fry them in the skillet. The Mexicans make Papas Rancheras with the addition of garlic, bell peppers/jalapenos, onions, some chili powder and about 1/4 cup of Picante sauce. I also add some eggs to make a breakfast scramble. This works equally well with sausage and/or diced ham. A little grated cheddar on top is very good too. This reminds me of the Breakfast Skillets served at a popular restaurant chain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Nothing really special about this, but maybe it was the changes I made. I drained the bacon grease & just added a few spoonfuls back in w/ the potatoes. I nuked my spuds for 2 min before slicing. They looked good, but lacked something. Def need more seasoning. Probably won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very good indeed! I used some vegetable shortening instead of bacon (though did mix in bacon bits) and added minced garlic and green peppers. It was a big hit with everyone! Definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
A little common sense people...use more potatoes or less bacon! problem solved! I use red, white or yukon gold spuds so I don't peel. Let's me pretend is healthy :0) No matter...potatoes are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenora Boardman
Living In: Newport, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I use leftover, cold baked potatoes that I then chop up. And always in the bacon grease! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg Shambo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
for everyone complaining about too much grease: use less bacon or more potatoes. for everyone complaining about undercooked potatoes: cut them up smaller. for everyone complaining about overcooked onions (and undercooked potatoes): turn the heat down on the stove. the knob has more than just "on" and "off" settings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
These were SO FREAKIN GOOD! I made them to go with out Labor Day steaks and 6 people were supposed to show up and only 1 did. Still, all the taters got eaten!! I didn't have garlic pepper seasoning so I just used salt, pepper, garlic and a little chili to make them pretty, and they were PERFECT! This is my new go-to for fried potatoes! Can't wait to try them with eggs for breakfast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
soooo gooood but sooooo bad thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Clay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Pretty good, very easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States