Home-style Tacos al Pastor (Chile and Pineapple Pork Tacos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Amazing - a bit spicy and sweet but with subtle complexity to the flavor. I would give this 4.5 stars if I could but I'm rounding up since I can't. For the sauce I used 5 fresh Anaheim and 2 dried California chillies instead of gujillo (both are fairly mild in heat), 5 large cloves of garlic, 1 tsp. of garlic powder, a 7 oz. can of chipotle chili in adobo, 1 tbsp. canola oil, about 1/4 cup of extra adobo sauce and I put salt and pepper on the roast before coating it with sauce. I vacuum-pack marinated the meat for 7 hours and instead of stir frying I sous vide cooked the pork roast for 20 hours at 143 degrees in the marinade. The tacos turned out incredible but the meat with a bit of sauce and pineapple was delicious to snack a la cart. The meat had a slight kick from the chipotle so it you like a lot of heat add more of those or maybe add a serrano or two with veins. This dish is going in my main rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vagabum Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This recipe is an awesome starting point. After making the marinade as directed and tasting it, I made a few modifications: The marinade needs to be boiled for more than 2 minutes for it to lose the raw onion flavor, and I felt that it needed significantly more pineapple juice for it to have the sweet-heat flavor I was trying to recreate. I ended up adding three 8 oz cans of pineapple juice (total), and boiled the marinade for 15 minutes or so to reduce the liquid and let the flavors come together. I also used 2 tablespoons of adobo from the chipotle can, added a few tablespoons of brown sugar, and a fair amount of salt (I also added salt to taste to the pork while it was cooking). I used fresh pineapple instead of canned. Otherwise, followed the recipe to a T. It was a big hit at my house, and will definitely be part of our meal rotation. A few tips: There ended up being A LOT of marinade, so I used only the marinade that was needed to saturate the meat, and set aside the rest to freeze. Glad that I'll be able to make this meal on the fly next time. When I make this again from scratch, I will double it so that I have several meal's worth for the freezer. This recipe is labor intensive for sure, but definitely worth it! Especially if you can get more than one meal out of it! Also, instead of cooking the meat in batches, I saved time by using more than one pan. I had one cast iron and one calphalon, and both worked equally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Really good recipe. It was a lot of work but the end result was AMAZING! I would suggest a little more salt in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by telle09
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this last Halloween. I followed the recipe but instead of adding chopped onions, I added onion powder (so I didn't have to boil it to remove the onion taste. Lol). I used crushed pineapple and added the juice and the pineapple when I put the mixture in the food processor. This recipe needs more salt. I added more adobo seasoning and cumin and more of the sauce from the chipotle chilies. Marinated it overnight and it came out so good!!! We grilled the beef slices and choppped all up and mixed in the remaining marinade to the still hot chopped meat. Everyone in my family loved it! My husband ate the leftovers for days!!! I'll make this again. The effort was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by telle09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Popped the whole recipe in the slow cooker after making the sauce as per the recipe. Cooked on low for 8 hours and it was fabulous! Fall apart tender and everyone loved the little "street" tacos we served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was very good the first day, but amazing the following day! I put the whole recipe in my crock pot without marinating, cooked on low all day, and made al pastor burritos the first night. The meat was quite tender and delicious, but I knew marinating would have given it more depth. Taco's the next day were great, and the third day I just ate it straight- yummy! I did change the pineapple ratio as I don't care for sweet meat. The first day it was sweet, but the second day it had balanced, and the third day it was spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've always loved those little tacos you can buy on the streets of Mexico! Three for one dollar and they are soooo good! This recipe is about as close as you can get .... north of the border. Ole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Awesome! Did a 24 hour marinade and will make these again soon!! I got 33 street taco sized out of my batch. They were a hit with everyone even though I added an extra chile and adobo sauce. I use crushed pineapples & blended 1/2 into the sauce. I was eating the sauce w/ a spoon right out of the pot.. it was so good! Serve w/ onions, radish & cilantro. Some of my guests wanted cheese to I used finely shredded monterrey jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCarter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Needs a bit more spice but otherwise very good. I used shredded cabbage and cotija cheese, spritz with lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Chef John's Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States