Home-style Tacos al Pastor (Chile and Pineapple Pork Tacos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Amazing - a bit spicy and sweet but with subtle complexity to the flavor. I would give this 4.5 stars if I could but I'm rounding up since I can't. For the sauce I used 5 fresh Anaheim and 2 dried California chillies instead of gujillo (both are fairly mild in heat), 5 large cloves of garlic, 1 tsp. of garlic powder, a 7 oz. can of chipotle chili in adobo, 1 tbsp. canola oil, about 1/4 cup of extra adobo sauce and I put salt and pepper on the roast before coating it with sauce. I vacuum-pack marinated the meat for 7 hours and instead of stir frying I sous vide cooked the pork roast for 20 hours at 143 degrees in the marinade. The tacos turned out incredible but the meat with a bit of sauce and pineapple was delicious to snack a la cart. The meat had a slight kick from the chipotle so it you like a lot of heat add more of those or maybe add a serrano or two with veins. This dish is going in my main rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vagabum Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was very good the first day, but amazing the following day! I put the whole recipe in my crock pot without marinating, cooked on low all day, and made al pastor burritos the first night. The meat was quite tender and delicious, but I knew marinating would have given it more depth. Taco's the next day were great, and the third day I just ate it straight- yummy! I did change the pineapple ratio as I don't care for sweet meat. The first day it was sweet, but the second day it had balanced, and the third day it was spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxie
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I could not give this more than 3 stars. I followed the Recipe exactly but it had virtually no flavor (and I marinated the pork overnight). I did add plenty of Adobo, but this definitely needs some good old fashioned SALT. It didn't taste bad, but for all the work this was, it was not worth it and that was really disappointing. I will stick with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Really good recipe. It was a lot of work but the end result was AMAZING! I would suggest a little more salt in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've always loved those little tacos you can buy on the streets of Mexico! Three for one dollar and they are soooo good! This recipe is about as close as you can get .... north of the border. Ole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I didn't have time to marinade so I slow cooked the pork in the sauce instead of just marinading in it. The results were very good! The sauce needs additional flavor...more adobo seasoning, chile powder, cumin did the trick. FYI...this is not a novice recipe. It is pretty involved, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Needs a bit more spice but otherwise very good. I used shredded cabbage and cotija cheese, spritz with lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Awesome! Did a 24 hour marinade and will make these again soon!! I got 33 street taco sized out of my batch. They were a hit with everyone even though I added an extra chile and adobo sauce. I use crushed pineapples & blended 1/2 into the sauce. I was eating the sauce w/ a spoon right out of the pot.. it was so good! Serve w/ onions, radish & cilantro. Some of my guests wanted cheese to I used finely shredded monterrey jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCarter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Chef John’s Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States