Home-Style Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
WOW This is by far the easiest soup I have ever made. Great soup for beginners - the hardest part is cutting up the potatoes. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Wonderful recipe. My husband and one of my children loved it. I did add some extra vegetables, peas and lima beans. And I added about a cup of cooked sausage as well, which gave it a bit of extra flavor. It's not my grandma's, but it's pretty darn close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Well, I made some changes but enjoyed this recipe! I made everything in 1 pot (no microwave necessary!). Instead of tomato cocktail, I used jarred tomatoes and 3 cups of broth. Even then, I thought the soup was more of a stew than a soup. But, all in all, a very nutritious soup! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My family is a fan of garlic - so I flavored with a bit of garlic salt!! As others noted - this soup gets even better after a night in the fridge!! The family loved it on night 1 & still loving it on day 3...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Very ez recipe. Made this (1st time ever making a soup) and the family luv ed it. Just I dont mico wave my food.. I steamed the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Linwood, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Three and three-quarter stars. I was excited about trying this recipe. It was easy to prepare, smelled delicious, and was filling served with cheesy biscuits. Omitted corn and added frozen peas, a quartered & sliced small zucchini, and canned diced tomatoes. But the flavor was ho-hum and rather disappointing. Leftovers, however, were tastier the second day. If I make this again I will add garlic and dried herbs to punch up the taste, and perhaps try the spicy variety of vegetable-tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
For the amount of effort, this was fabulous. I didn't worry about cooking things ahead since everything softened during the simmering. I brought things to a boil after loading the pot, then turned down to a simmer. I used fresh green beans and frozen corn. I also used white potatoes which worked fine. Red are firmer over time, but this didn't last long. Could add some canned tomatoes next time perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was an easy recipe to fix, and nice that you can use some of the "leftovers" in the refrigerator and get a great meal! I added some chili powder to get a little more taste...my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Sunday is "clean out the frig day" and it's sleeting and snowing here-burr cold outside! I had lots of fresh carrots and broccoli to use up. Made this soup with just a few changes in the vegs and cooked in the crock pot all day, it was wonderful! Had my brother for dinner and he loved it my hubby had 3 bowls. Also served hot crusty rolls with it. Will make this again soon. This recipe has lots of possibilites with the vegs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe was great! I was skeptical because it was so simple, and I'm used to seeing recipes that use several different spices, etc., but it was fabulous as is. I didn't put any corn in because it seemed out of place, and the potatoes took a little longer to get tender than the recipe says. I used canned green beans and they worked fine. It's nice to have a recipe you can throw together and walk away from, and it turns out delicious and filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big_al_728

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States