Home-Style Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
The best vegetable beef soup!! I actually had a bunch of leftover homemade spaghetti meat sauce and meatballs (I did cut those up) that I used instead of the tomato juice. It worked out PERFECT since it was already made with onion, garlic, green pepper & Italian herbs. Then I added beef broth and a little water. Threw in all the vegetables, with the addition of celery and cooked it for about two hours. WOW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was a tasty and hearty soup! For a little extra flavor I added garlic tabasco sauce to taste. Also, rather than chop and cook the potatoes and carrots I just threw in a couple can already sliced, undrained. Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany McConnell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe is a refined version of the stews I ate growing up on a farm in New Zealand. Now I live in Europe I thought I would give it a twist to better represent my current location. I removed the ground beef and replaced it with Italian Chorizo sausage. And we had it with home made garlic bread on the side. It was amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
While the V8 provides some flavor, I think this recipe needs some additional seasonings. Perhaps a bit of chili powder or cayanne, or a dash of hot sauce, worchestershire sauce, or maybe a little bit of soy sauce would help it. Perhaps a couple of spoonsful of salsa. Basil would certainly be good in it. I like the way this soup is thicker. We prefer thicker soups in our home. Overall a good soup, but with a few tweeks could be a great soup. I wouldn't add salt to it because of the salty V8 in it. Good to put together in a crock pot. There is really no need to use the microwave here. Cook everything altogether. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I've made my own version of this for several years now and it's always one my family is happy to eat. I make mine with half V8 and half beef broth and sometimes add a squirt of tomato paste. I also add a bit of olive oil and italian seasoning. I don't add salt because the beef broth already has enough. I love that this soup is made with stuff I always have on hand anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I was turned on to this one because it used ground meat instead of "stew" meat (I am not a chunky meat fan). I also was looking forward the the V8 base. I thought it was fantastic! I used the red potatoes (had never done that in a soup and thought they were better!), onion powder instead of real onions, and frozen mixed vegetables instead of the vegetables listed here. Thanks for sharing this - it's one to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gurley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
AMAZING RECIPE!! Some deviations - I used garlic, ground turkey, frozen white corn, 2 small diced portabello mushroom caps, 4 diced roma tomatoes, green onion (for garnish), dried oregano, no green beans, and no salt. I was tempted to buy the low-sodium version of V8, but since it had more preservatives, I stuck with the fully salted version. I'm glad I did b/c the soup ended up perfectly seasoned w/o needing any extra salt. I first browned the garlic and onions with the meat, took it out, and then steamed the potatoes in the juices of the meat for 15 minutes. I should have added the carrots in at the same time b/c the microwave method left the carrots still a little hard and raw. The overall soup was delicious... with only two people, we ate almost half the pot in one night!! The soup tastes complex and hearty, but yet is healthy and easy to make. No need for additional carbs, as this is a complete meal in itself with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This recipe was SO good. I made it for a soup cook off for my school, and won 2nd place! And not to mention my entire family loved it! Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I made this last night for dinner and after reading the reviews made a few slight additions. I chopped up about 4 cloves of garlic and added that with salt and pepper to the beef/onion mixture. I used baby carrots chopped since that is what I had on hand. I also added a beef bouillon cube to 1/2 hot water and added to make it more "soupy". I also added 1 chopped zuchini and 1 can of diced seasoned tomatoes (with juice). After reading reviews and doing a taste test I was afraid of it being too bland so I added additional s/p, celery salt, basil, oregeno, garlic salt a tad of chlli powder and a pinch of red pepper flake. It smelled WONDERFUL. The taste was good also, but I'm more eager to eat leftovers today for lunch as I am sure they will be even better. My 3 yr old daughter ate 3 bowls of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
WOW This is by far the easiest soup I have ever made. Great soup for beginners - the hardest part is cutting up the potatoes. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States