Home-Style Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
A very simple soup, I made this in my crock pot I used a large package of mixed vegetables instead of the potatoes, carrots, corn, and beans, the last half hour I put in a handful of pasta. Don't know if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This soup was so simple & suprisingly so yummy! I wasn't sure about cooking the potatoes in with the raw ground beef & onion but it all cooked nicely! I also thought it might be really bland & it kinda was. So to the 1 cup of water I added 2 beef bullion cubes. Then to the whole pot I added extra salt, extra pepper & a tablespoon or two of Worchestershire sauce. This made the broth really flavorful & yummy! What a great soup for those cold winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
My nutritionist told me how to make this years ago. I love it. I usually use ground beef, but sometimes put chicken in it. I start with frozen mixed veggies and add various things depending on what is available. Potatoes, onions, garlic, black eyed peas, field peas, lima beans, butter beans...whatever you like can be thrown in this soup. I like my soup thick, so I cover it with vegetable juice and sometimes add a little water. I'm not much on veggies, but love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This is a good soup. I did like other reviewers and used beef broth instead of water and added half cup of red wine. I used 5 fresh tomatoes diced up instead of the tomatoe paste and canned tomatoes. You can make this with just about any ingrediants and not go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This was a great recipe, I didn't cook the potatoes with the meat like it says, I just put everything in a pot (did cook the meat though, and added a can of romano beans, will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
We thought this soup was very tasty, if a tad bland. Next time I would add some herbs and perhaps a little chili powder. I made it as written, but added a couple cloves of garlic, a zucchini and a splash of worcestershire. I sauteed the beef/onion/garlic together, then removed the meat mixture and steamed the potatoes/carrots in the pan for 15 minutes before combining everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I received this recipe in the daily dish yesterday. I stopped on my way home and got the ingredients and had this last night for dinner. It was awesome. I added two cloves of minced garlic and omitted the salt. Instead of cooking the carrots in the microwave, I cooked them with the potatoes, hamburger and onion mixture. I added the 1/2 cup of water to that to help steam the veggies. I also added some red pepper flakes in the end because I like a little spice. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
What a very simple and FABULOUS tasting soup! My family all loved it, even my VERY picky daughter! I actually made it in my slow cooker,...browned the ground beef with fresh garlic & onion, added the remaining ingredients and cooked it all day! I chose to use a frozen veggie mix of corn, green beans & carrots. I also added a couple beef boullion cubes and a can of diced garlic/onion tomoatoes. The flavor was really, really good! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1f9mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
My husband and I loved this soup. I did take some of the other ideas, added minced garlic, celery, a half of can of stewed tomatoes, instead of water,I used a can of beef broth and also added chopped up cabbage and used spicy V8 juice. I also added a little hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Yummy! I used a cup of beef broth instead of water, added 2 cloves minced garlic to the onions, beef and potatoes, and about a tsp of italian spice mixture and it was so good! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States