Home Style Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
OK.. so I think I've pretty much PERFECTED..I did it last night and it is the best home made mac and cheese I've ever had! I used 1 3/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup heavy cream.. this made it extra creamy and yummy. I also blended in 2 cups of the suggested cheddar as well as 1 cup of provolone and 1 cup of mozzeralla...this made it even more creay and cheesy... I omitted the breadcrumb topping (TOO much breadcrumbs for me) and generously added more cheddar, mozzeralla, and provolone to the top before puting it into the oven... If you like easy, cheesy, and creamy mac and cheese..you will love this recipe with these modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
485 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach8986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
.Love this recipe....BUT...7 ounces of pasta would barely feed 2 people in my family (we're German i.e. big eaters) Plus that seemes like a lot of sauce for the ammount of pasta.. So I upped the butter to a 1/2 cup and left everything else the same and used a 1 pound box of macaroni. It was PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I've never made macaroni and cheese from scratch before, so I was excited to try it out. I was looking for a recipe that had ingredients I'd readily have on hand. No specialty cheeses. I really like the bread crumb topping. The actual mac and cheese was a little too cream cheese flavored for me. I like rich, flavorful foods and the cream cheese made it too bland for me. I'm going to keep looking around for other recipes, but if I do make this again, I'll down the cream cheese to 6oz and up the cheddar to 2 & 1/2 to 3 cups. Also, when I made this, instead of putting parsley (which I'm not fond of) in with the bread crumbs I put garlic salt and paprika. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This is the very first time that I am sorry that I followed the advice of others. So many other reviewers said that they halved the cream cheese because it was too strong of a flavor. I purposely chose this recipe because I like cream cheese. But after reading all the reviews, I was afraid to use the full amount of cream cheese called for. Although this mac & cheese came out very good, it wasn't at all special. It tasted just like every other mac & cheese. I couldn't taste one iota of cream cheese. Next time I'm going to use the full amount called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I love macaroni and cheese so I had to try this. I'm not too crazy about cream cheese and was a little concerned about others complaining of an overpowering cream cheese flavor, so I substituted 8 ozs of sour cream, which is what I normally use in my mac and cheese. I also added about 4 more ounces of shredded cheddar cheese. This recipe turned out creamy, cheesy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I was not impressed with this macaroni and cheese. I followed the recipe but it was VERY bland. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
WOW, this was great! My fiance loved it and ate leftovers 3 days in a row! I did saute a little garlic and onion then added a dash of Red Hot (or tabasco) to spice it up a little. It was great and I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVSNOW17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
A++++ Loved this recipe! I did 1/2 the amount of cream cheese and add an extra cup of (sharp) cheddar. It was very creamy and cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlinkaPinka
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
My very first time making a homemade Mac n Cheese and everyone JUST LOVED it! Very creamy! I did use 1 full pound of noodles and added a cup of white cheddar and a cup of monterey jack in addition to the regular cheddar. I also added finely chopped BACON! Best Mac n Cheese ever if you like it creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlinkaPinka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Besides using Ritz crackers instead of breadcrumbs, I followed this exact recipe and I loved it! I do prefer a creamier mac & cheese though. The fiance requested that I put in more cheddar next time. I might play around with white cheddar next time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maricris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States