Home Style Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
This was pretty good however my kids like boxed mac and cheese better but for the adults DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
I've been looking for a great mac and cheese recipe. This is really good. It's creamy and rich. Not your typical macaroni and cheese. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I've never made macaroni and cheese from scratch before, so I was excited to try it out. I was looking for a recipe that had ingredients I'd readily have on hand. No specialty cheeses. I really like the bread crumb topping. The actual mac and cheese was a little too cream cheese flavored for me. I like rich, flavorful foods and the cream cheese made it too bland for me. I'm going to keep looking around for other recipes, but if I do make this again, I'll down the cream cheese to 6oz and up the cheddar to 2 & 1/2 to 3 cups. Also, when I made this, instead of putting parsley (which I'm not fond of) in with the bread crumbs I put garlic salt and paprika. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I make homemade mac-n- cheese all the time but never with cream cheese and the topping.These was so creamy and Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
My husband really enjoyed this recipe, but I thought it had a bit too much cream cheese flavor. Neither of the kids enjoyed it, but I think it was the breadcrumbs they disliked -- they can be picky little buggers. I would definitely make it again, although I think I would subsitute half the cream cheese with another cheese -- perhaps monterey jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
It was fairly tasty but a bit too floury for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
it was very creamy and the topping was delicious. My son is an extremely picky eater and he ate all that i gave him. my whole family loved it and the cream cheese taste it awesome!! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Outstanding! Much creamier and simpler than most. A lot of mac and cheese recipes are a pain since I'm a college kid and don't usually have much on hand, less the budget to buy the weird stuff. This is perfect and just as creamy/yummy as the others I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This was good. I used buttery crackers on top instead of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Excellent! Even my husband loves it and he usually could take or leave macaroni and cheese. I add a bit of grated cheddar cheese into the breadcrumb topping as well. Yummy! Thanks, Valerie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 520) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States