Home Style Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
This was pretty good however my kids like boxed mac and cheese better but for the adults DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
I've been looking for a great mac and cheese recipe. This is really good. It's creamy and rich. Not your typical macaroni and cheese. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I've never made macaroni and cheese from scratch before, so I was excited to try it out. I was looking for a recipe that had ingredients I'd readily have on hand. No specialty cheeses. I really like the bread crumb topping. The actual mac and cheese was a little too cream cheese flavored for me. I like rich, flavorful foods and the cream cheese made it too bland for me. I'm going to keep looking around for other recipes, but if I do make this again, I'll down the cream cheese to 6oz and up the cheddar to 2 & 1/2 to 3 cups. Also, when I made this, instead of putting parsley (which I'm not fond of) in with the bread crumbs I put garlic salt and paprika. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I make homemade mac-n- cheese all the time but never with cream cheese and the topping.These was so creamy and Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
My husband really enjoyed this recipe, but I thought it had a bit too much cream cheese flavor. Neither of the kids enjoyed it, but I think it was the breadcrumbs they disliked -- they can be picky little buggers. I would definitely make it again, although I think I would subsitute half the cream cheese with another cheese -- perhaps monterey jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
It was fairly tasty but a bit too floury for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
it was very creamy and the topping was delicious. My son is an extremely picky eater and he ate all that i gave him. my whole family loved it and the cream cheese taste it awesome!! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Outstanding! Much creamier and simpler than most. A lot of mac and cheese recipes are a pain since I'm a college kid and don't usually have much on hand, less the budget to buy the weird stuff. This is perfect and just as creamy/yummy as the others I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This was good. I used buttery crackers on top instead of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Excellent! Even my husband loves it and he usually could take or leave macaroni and cheese. I add a bit of grated cheddar cheese into the breadcrumb topping as well. Yummy! Thanks, Valerie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States