Home Style Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
This was pretty good however my kids like boxed mac and cheese better but for the adults DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
I've been looking for a great mac and cheese recipe. This is really good. It's creamy and rich. Not your typical macaroni and cheese. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I've never made macaroni and cheese from scratch before, so I was excited to try it out. I was looking for a recipe that had ingredients I'd readily have on hand. No specialty cheeses. I really like the bread crumb topping. The actual mac and cheese was a little too cream cheese flavored for me. I like rich, flavorful foods and the cream cheese made it too bland for me. I'm going to keep looking around for other recipes, but if I do make this again, I'll down the cream cheese to 6oz and up the cheddar to 2 & 1/2 to 3 cups. Also, when I made this, instead of putting parsley (which I'm not fond of) in with the bread crumbs I put garlic salt and paprika. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I make homemade mac-n- cheese all the time but never with cream cheese and the topping.These was so creamy and Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
My husband really enjoyed this recipe, but I thought it had a bit too much cream cheese flavor. Neither of the kids enjoyed it, but I think it was the breadcrumbs they disliked -- they can be picky little buggers. I would definitely make it again, although I think I would subsitute half the cream cheese with another cheese -- perhaps monterey jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
It was fairly tasty but a bit too floury for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
it was very creamy and the topping was delicious. My son is an extremely picky eater and he ate all that i gave him. my whole family loved it and the cream cheese taste it awesome!! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Outstanding! Much creamier and simpler than most. A lot of mac and cheese recipes are a pain since I'm a college kid and don't usually have much on hand, less the budget to buy the weird stuff. This is perfect and just as creamy/yummy as the others I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This was good. I used buttery crackers on top instead of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Excellent! Even my husband loves it and he usually could take or leave macaroni and cheese. I add a bit of grated cheddar cheese into the breadcrumb topping as well. Yummy! Thanks, Valerie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States