Home Style Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Tammy Gulgren
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This may sound funny, but when I took a bite it reminded me of my grade school's mac and cheese (Husman Elementary, Crystal Lake, IL). It's delicious, but really threw me for a loop. Some things just stick with you forever. My kids enjoyed it as I did because it is creamy and doesn't harden as soon as it begins to cool a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This is a very good base recipe from which to build your own custom mac-n-cheese. I personally didn't find the Dijon mustard taste appealing - I'll leave that out next time. I agree with other reviewers, this needs a few other cheeses. I followed the recipe exactly and it's good. Next time I'll step it up with some of my own favorite cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I've made this several times now and the whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I love this recipe! I add in a bag of frozen veggies (steamed) to make it healthier -- 16 ounces of broccoli, cauliflower and carrots -- and add half a teaspoon of nutmeg to the white sauce to give it a little more zip. A delicious cold weather dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very good recipe needs a bit more seasoning in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Thought this was good, realized after purchasing ingredients that I wanted to make a bigger recipe, so ended up using about a half cup less of cheddar since I didn't buy enough, and adding about 4 slices of American cheese to make up a bit of the difference. Also used Panko breadcrumbs instead for topping....just really like the airy crispiness of those. It ended up being a very rich but delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Absolutely delicious as is. Here are a few changes I made the second time around: I used 4 oz of cream cheese and 4 oz of sour cream and did not use butter with the topping, but simply sprinkled bread crumbs on top. They pretty much absorbed the fat from the cheese etc. during baking. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! The only reason I gave 4 stars is that I made slight changes. There is FAR too much sauce for only 7 ounces of macaroni; I used a whole pound and still had at least a half cup of extra sauce! I shredded a block of extra sharp cheddar, probably closer to 2.5-3 cups for more flavor. Love this recipe! Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I followed some of the suggestions and it turned out super yummy. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Never cooked homemade mac and cheese before, but this was easy and turned out great. The family loved it at Easter lunch. I did read other reviews and used double the amount of elbow noodles, added a cup of blended Italian cheeses, added some garlic powder and cayenne pepper, and used one cup of milk with a half-cup of heavy cream. My sauce was really thick and gooey. I assembled the noodles and sauce in the dish and set it in the fridge overnight. I added 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs and extra cheddar to the top in the morning before I baked it. Turned out great... thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States