Home Style Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this exactly the way that it is given on this site, except I did not have Dijon mustard so I used a tiny bit of mustard powder. It is excellent! The girls at work always ask me for my mac and cheese recipe, but now I will have to give them this one! It is the first one I've used that has cream cheese in it and I think it gives it the PERFECT touch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great flavor! Stays creamy. No lumps. Boom...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I found it bland and not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very good, very easy. I'd give it 5 stars but I've had better in restaurants. I'm saving that rating for the best that can be made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good recipe! I did cut back on the cream cheese a bit and added more shredded cheese as the only changes. I do plan to make this again, but I would now cut back on the bread crumbs. It was too much in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Velez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I started looking for a recipe for a creamy mac and cheese that didn't use processed American like cheese or canned cheese. I'm used to making my own mac n cheese usually with whatever I have on hand. Sometimes I bake it and sometimes I don't. This recipe tasted good right off the burner. This time I baked it because I was also heating up some ham and the oven was on anyhow. We really enjoyed the taste and the tanginess of the cream cheese in it. Hubby decided it might need tweaked more before he declares it's a "loved it". Changes: 8 oz pasta instead of 7 oz. I buy bulk pasta in a 1 lb pack, so I used half a package. 4 oz cream cheese instead of 8 oz. I had a partial package of cream cheese from an 8 oz package. 10 Ritz crackers crushed instead of bread crumbs and additional butter. Ground white pepper instead of black pepper. I don't like black flakes in my mac n cheese. The sauce came out nice and creamy. It was the perfect medium thickness for a sauce of this type. Thickness of a sauce can depend on a number of things, type of milk, how long you let thicken, etc. I use 1% milk since that's what hubby drinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was pretty great except 1 C. of bread crumbs is WAY too much! According to me, that is. My boyfriend disagrees. It is very creamy, which I liked, but lacking the cheesy flavor. And like some others mentioned, it's kind of bland. Needs something like garlic or onions added for more flavor! BUT I did enjoy it, and it is easy to make from ingredients we all have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Muller
Living In: Sneads Ferry, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Use less cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I was interested in this recipe purely for the cream cheese. It was a hit with my family. Very creamy, though I can understand why others say it is a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight and it was very good. When I first was putting it together it seemed to be a bit runny, but after baking, this wasn't a problem. If anything, it got a little dry, so...maybe more milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States