Home Style Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
We changed this up just a little and it was delicious: 1.) Followed the idea of not putting in 2 cups of milk, but rather 1 3/4 cups of milk and 1/4 cup of heavy cream. 2.) Once we added the macaroni and cheese, we added a teaspoon of truffle oil. 3.) For toppings, we mixed French's Fried Onions, breadcrumbs and fresh chopped parsley - shook in the French's can - and placed on top. Think for next time, we will add small bacon pieces but still delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spazholecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I wanted to see what cream cheese would be like in mac & cheese, but it's not for me. I will use a different recipe next time. EDIT: Tried it again the next day, and it seemed to taste better. So I suggest making it the day before you eat it, and just re-heat! My toddler gobbles it up, so I might make it again just to have something on hand for her ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Vitcusky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Wonderful recipe that I've been using/had for years. My kids love it! I do leave out the bread crumbs, butter, and parsley the last times I've made it but I've also tried it with and it's good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Loved this! Used buttermilk instead of regular milk and wheat thins instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Neiter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mauckport, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Best mac 'n' cheese EVER. Hands down. My husband loves it, the kids can't get enough. I usually make it without the topping though, because I haven't had much luck making it the correct consistency and to be honest, it just seems to take away from the deliciousness of the macaroni itself! It's so easy and quick, too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
very cheezy luv it can you akso do it with diffrent cheezes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I have made this 2 or 3 times and it is always good. The last time I made it I did not have enough milk so I used Carnation Evaporated milk and everyone Raved! So I will stick with the evaporated milk version from now on. Thanks for such a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I'm not sure if it was the cream cheese or the dijon that made this taste just a bit off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This turned out so good! Delish! It was super easy to make. I only used 1/2 a block of cream cheese because that was all I had on hand anyway and I added extra cheese. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Very Under-rated. I have tried several other "popular" Mac'NCheese recipes and this one by far wins my vote. Easy, cheesy and great consistency. I halved the cream cheese, upped the cheddar and added some spices to my topping. Oh yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States