Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I like the fact that you can change the recipee to fit what you have laying around your kitchen. I like that it was more bland, bc we were cooking a spicy flavorful meet. I used canned mushrooms and parsley flakes. I used olive oil instead of butter. Also, we did not have cashews, so i threw on some slivered almonds with the rice on my plate. That reallly made it. I would not consider it a rice pilaf, but I would definetly try this again if we want use up some of the stuff in the fridge and cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I was happy with the recipe, it was not as bland as other reviewers said. I do agree that this dish tries to be more like fried rice than pilaf. I think I will do without the eggs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Really good! I used left over(cooked) rice because I had it on hand. I made the veggie mixture my own using zuchini and peas instead of chick peas and mushrooms. Had no parsley, so I just fooled around a bit with the spices. My dad said at least 5 times that "It was really good", which is a big compliment since he usually turns up his nose at anything he hasn't had before! I served it with a greek salad and chicken souvlaki. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
While I love all the ingredients in this recipe, combining them together this way was not very good. Compared to other pilafs, this was boring and bland. I tried it with soy sauce (as per suggestions) and I agree with another review that it tasted like a "wannabe" fried rice. I gave only two stars b/c this is a relatively healthy meal (besides all the butter), if you can eat it...otherwise it would be a zero, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Not at all what i thought it would turn out like. Maybe i made a mistake somewhere... but this wasnt a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Excellent recipe. A great way to spruce up brown rice. Because brown takes a long time to cook (45-50 minutes) this recipe definitely takes a little time to make, but is well worth it. I made it the nite before we were going to eat it and it refrigerated and heated up well for dinner. I did not add soy sauce because I didnt feel that it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
If you use instant brown rice, it takes only 15 mn to make this recipe. It's really good if you need a quick, filling meal. My husband didn't like the chick peas in it, but I thought it was ok. Don't forget the soy sauce =) I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Delicious! I left out the mushrooms (not a fan) and cut the salt in half. I added hot sauce and soy sauce to the rice while it cooked, and added crushed red pepper to the veggies while they were cooking (The end result was really spicy... I may have to lay off next time, ha!). I used about 1 1/2 tsp. of ground parsley instead of fresh. This went together really easily and it was really filling! I have also substituted zuchinni instead of mushrooms. Also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This was wonderful. I omitted the mushrooms and cashews and added some red pepper since we like things spicy at our house. We served this as a side dish with salmon grilled in a ginger sesame sauce. It was a terrific compliment to the fish and would be great just to eat alone! Thanks for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This recipe was a little too much on the "blah" side for us. I might try it again using the substituitions. I'm not sure,even then, that it will end up worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States