Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
What a wonderful idea. I did add a little bit more salt after tasting it. I also forgot to purchase the nuts, so I added cranberries. Nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
love it, love it thanks! I used walnuts and was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I loved this Rice and so did my husband... Although I did make some changes, I left out the mushrooms and parsley and eggs... I added 1/3 cup of rasions, 1 tsp. of cumin and a dash of cinnamon, and a tsp of Worcestershire sauce to the rice as it was boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I've made this dozens of times and am finally reviewing it. I LOVE this recipe - have made it many times for family gatherings and many people have asked for the recipe. It's low fat, nutritious and delicious - I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Oh, my Gosh! I've made brown rice pilaf before but have never added chickpeas and cashews before. These two ingredients go so well with the brown rice and soooo YUMMY! Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as described. It's a little bit bland, but a good way to get a bunch of vegetables. It lacks color... Next time I'll add snow peas or some other bright green thing. For other cooking newbies, be aware that the brown rice is very mushy and risotto-like (kind of like sushi rice) as opposed to light and airy like basmati.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I absolutely loved this! Cooked the rice in a steamer. The cashews added to the nutty flavor of the brown rice. Flexible since you can add whatever veggies you want. We omitted the chic peas and opted to not use the soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was good. I added green peas, instead of chickpeas, and cashews because of preference. Will make again, thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This was excellent! I made this with the 'Roasted Brussel Sprouts' recipe and it was a perfect combination. This was a wonderful vegetarian meal with lots of protein, texture and flavor. I did make a few changes. I read the other reviews and thought adding the egg would make this dish too much like fried rice. I cut up some paneer and fried it with the onions instead. I tossed in a bay leaf, and added some cinnamon, nutmeg, cumin and curry powder to give it more of a kick. I also ommited the parsley and the soy sauce. My husband added hot sauce to his - he likes spicy food - but I thought it was perfect just as is. It's key to sautee the onion until it's fragrant - it adds a wonderful carmelized flavor. I will definately make this again! Next time I'm going to try adding zucchini, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I like the fact that you can change the recipee to fit what you have laying around your kitchen. I like that it was more bland, bc we were cooking a spicy flavorful meet. I used canned mushrooms and parsley flakes. I used olive oil instead of butter. Also, we did not have cashews, so i threw on some slivered almonds with the rice on my plate. That reallly made it. I would not consider it a rice pilaf, but I would definetly try this again if we want use up some of the stuff in the fridge and cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States