Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
THIS IS THE BEST RICE EVER. EXCELLENT. I FOLLOWED THE OTHER PERSONS SUBSTITUTION IDEAS. CORN INSTEAD OF CHICKPEAS, BROTH INSTEAD OF WATER, PINENUTS INSTEAD OF CASHEWS. IT TURNED OUT GREAT. SUPER HEALTHY AND SUPER HEARTY I WILL MAKE THIS A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Awesome is an understatement. I did make a few changes since we like spicy food. I sauteed the rice before cooking and used chicken broth. I sauteed onion, chopped celery, chopped carrots, garlic and coarsely chopped mushrooms and added cayenne for bite. I replaced the chickpeas with vacuum packed corn and substituted pinon nuts for cashews. To die for. I served with pounded, sauteed chicken breasts and frozen cut leaf spinach seasoned with rice vinegar. I will make time and time again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Oh wow this is awesome!! I had to modify a little bit...I sauteed onion, celery, carrots, garlic and mushrooms, added a little ground red pepper for kick and cooked the rice in chicken broth. DEEELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
This was just ok. If I make this again I'll leave out the carrots - they made it too sweet. I added a lot more salt and pepper than recommended, and it still could have used more. I also added some crushed red pepper and this added some much needed heat. All in all it was a good attempt to spruce up brown rice, but it just wasn't a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
This recipe didn't turn out so great for me. Maybe it was the rice, but it was a little too buttery and needed more taste. If I make it again I would use white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This is a delicious recipe! The original recipe was a bit too mild tasting for our tastes, so I added a little bit of soy sauce and hot sauce to the water for the rice. I also added a bit more salt, some crushed red pepper flakes and a lot of fresh ground black pepper to the vegetables as they were cooking so that the spicy taste combined with the veggies during cooking. I omitted the eggs and parsely, because I didn't have them, but it turned out great anyway! This is the first time I've cooked with brown rice, and the nutty taste of the brown rice was really good. The chickpeas also really added nutrition and taste to the dish. Next time, I'm going to saute some tofu with the onions, which will only add to the healthiness. This was a definite thumbs up and I'm going to make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
My husband and I really love this recipe!!! My daughter who usually likes to try new dishes didnt care for this too much, which surprised me. My oldest daughter, who is the picky one, ate it and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
This was a very good recipe, so different from the usual rice recipes. I didn't have all the ingredients(mushrooms, peas or nuts), but I made it anyway. I'm so glad I did. This is a keeper in my book!! My husband was amazed I made it myself. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
This was a great rice dish. My toddler loved it. I did not have fresh parsley or cashews. It came out great without them. I am adding this to my recipe box. Thanks so Much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
Well worth the effort! I prepared this for a dinner for 36 and got raves. I omitted the nuts & chickpeas, but I'm sure it would have been even better with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States