Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2003
While I did alter this recipe a bit based on suggestions from others and our personal preferences, it was still really good and I'm sure the original recipe is just as good! Here's what I did - I substituted pine nuts for the cashews, omitted the mushrooms and chickpeas (my husband doesn't like them), added the spices & pine nuts when I sauted the onions & carrots, and only used one egg. I think I ate four servings! (Note: I've made this a ton of times since my initial review and have been using chickpeas instead of nuts and omitting the eggs due to my kids' food allergies. So good! Plus it would make a great vegetarian meal since the chickpeas add protein.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Awesome is an understatement. I did make a few changes since we like spicy food. I sauteed the rice before cooking and used chicken broth. I sauteed onion, chopped celery, chopped carrots, garlic and coarsely chopped mushrooms and added cayenne for bite. I replaced the chickpeas with vacuum packed corn and substituted pinon nuts for cashews. To die for. I served with pounded, sauteed chicken breasts and frozen cut leaf spinach seasoned with rice vinegar. I will make time and time again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Oh wow this is awesome!! I had to modify a little bit...I sauteed onion, celery, carrots, garlic and mushrooms, added a little ground red pepper for kick and cooked the rice in chicken broth. DEEELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
THIS IS THE BEST RICE EVER. EXCELLENT. I FOLLOWED THE OTHER PERSONS SUBSTITUTION IDEAS. CORN INSTEAD OF CHICKPEAS, BROTH INSTEAD OF WATER, PINENUTS INSTEAD OF CASHEWS. IT TURNED OUT GREAT. SUPER HEALTHY AND SUPER HEARTY I WILL MAKE THIS A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This is a delicious recipe! The original recipe was a bit too mild tasting for our tastes, so I added a little bit of soy sauce and hot sauce to the water for the rice. I also added a bit more salt, some crushed red pepper flakes and a lot of fresh ground black pepper to the vegetables as they were cooking so that the spicy taste combined with the veggies during cooking. I omitted the eggs and parsely, because I didn't have them, but it turned out great anyway! This is the first time I've cooked with brown rice, and the nutty taste of the brown rice was really good. The chickpeas also really added nutrition and taste to the dish. Next time, I'm going to saute some tofu with the onions, which will only add to the healthiness. This was a definite thumbs up and I'm going to make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This was wonderful. I omitted the mushrooms and cashews and added some red pepper since we like things spicy at our house. We served this as a side dish with salmon grilled in a ginger sesame sauce. It was a terrific compliment to the fish and would be great just to eat alone! Thanks for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I was happy with the recipe, it was not as bland as other reviewers said. I do agree that this dish tries to be more like fried rice than pilaf. I think I will do without the eggs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Made this for dinner last night as an accompanyment to my main dish of Calves' Liver with Sherry ( another great recipe from this site). I was trying to get a brown rice dish for this main coarse and the 'pilaf' caught my eye. Normally I don't use rice as my wife is not a rice fan, but I had made another pilaf a while back ( From Tase of Home )that she really liked, so tried this one (with some changes as others had suggested). I used a 14 oz. can of beef broth and a 10.5 oz. can of Cambells French Onion Soup instead of the water, and extra virgin olive oil instead of butter. I left out the carrots, salt, mushrooms ( wife doesn't like them) and the chickpeas. I added 2 roasted red peppers ( for color )cut up into 3/4" pieces for the mushrooms and used a small can of corn in place of the chickpeas. also did not use soy sauce. Other than that I followed the cooking time exactly, and the rice came out perfect. Wife said it was really good, so you get 5 stars. And it went very well with the Liver dish. It is another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
This was wonderful. I added a can of chopped water chestnuts as I like crunch. I also omitted the egg and replaced the butter with olive oil to make it vegan. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very Good! I used a Gourmet Wild Rice Blend cooked in chicken broth. Green Peas instead of chickpeas and I didn't have cashews (darn it). Will make many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States