Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as described. It's a little bit bland, but a good way to get a bunch of vegetables. It lacks color... Next time I'll add snow peas or some other bright green thing. For other cooking newbies, be aware that the brown rice is very mushy and risotto-like (kind of like sushi rice) as opposed to light and airy like basmati.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I absolutely loved this! Cooked the rice in a steamer. The cashews added to the nutty flavor of the brown rice. Flexible since you can add whatever veggies you want. We omitted the chic peas and opted to not use the soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was good. I added green peas, instead of chickpeas, and cashews because of preference. Will make again, thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This was excellent! I made this with the 'Roasted Brussel Sprouts' recipe and it was a perfect combination. This was a wonderful vegetarian meal with lots of protein, texture and flavor. I did make a few changes. I read the other reviews and thought adding the egg would make this dish too much like fried rice. I cut up some paneer and fried it with the onions instead. I tossed in a bay leaf, and added some cinnamon, nutmeg, cumin and curry powder to give it more of a kick. I also ommited the parsley and the soy sauce. My husband added hot sauce to his - he likes spicy food - but I thought it was perfect just as is. It's key to sautee the onion until it's fragrant - it adds a wonderful carmelized flavor. I will definately make this again! Next time I'm going to try adding zucchini, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I like the fact that you can change the recipee to fit what you have laying around your kitchen. I like that it was more bland, bc we were cooking a spicy flavorful meet. I used canned mushrooms and parsley flakes. I used olive oil instead of butter. Also, we did not have cashews, so i threw on some slivered almonds with the rice on my plate. That reallly made it. I would not consider it a rice pilaf, but I would definetly try this again if we want use up some of the stuff in the fridge and cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I was happy with the recipe, it was not as bland as other reviewers said. I do agree that this dish tries to be more like fried rice than pilaf. I think I will do without the eggs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Really good! I used left over(cooked) rice because I had it on hand. I made the veggie mixture my own using zuchini and peas instead of chick peas and mushrooms. Had no parsley, so I just fooled around a bit with the spices. My dad said at least 5 times that "It was really good", which is a big compliment since he usually turns up his nose at anything he hasn't had before! I served it with a greek salad and chicken souvlaki. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
While I love all the ingredients in this recipe, combining them together this way was not very good. Compared to other pilafs, this was boring and bland. I tried it with soy sauce (as per suggestions) and I agree with another review that it tasted like a "wannabe" fried rice. I gave only two stars b/c this is a relatively healthy meal (besides all the butter), if you can eat it...otherwise it would be a zero, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Not at all what i thought it would turn out like. Maybe i made a mistake somewhere... but this wasnt a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Excellent recipe. A great way to spruce up brown rice. Because brown takes a long time to cook (45-50 minutes) this recipe definitely takes a little time to make, but is well worth it. I made it the nite before we were going to eat it and it refrigerated and heated up well for dinner. I did not add soy sauce because I didnt feel that it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States