Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
The ingredients are great and healthy, but too plain for my taste. My kids did enjoy it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I loved how the chick peas tasted with all of the other ingredients. I did not put the cashews in, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was a pretty good recipe, with a few changes. I saute the onions, garlic, carrots and chick peas with a pince of cayenne pepper until vegs are tender (I skip the mushrooms) Then I add the rice and saute until the rice starts to brown. Then I add Veg. broth instead of water and cover to cook until rice is tender. May need to add more water until rice is done. Add nuts and herbs at end (I skip the eggs also).The cayenne gives the dish a nice kick! Next time I will add a little sherry with the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Very good combination despite not following the recipe exactly. Used boil-in-bag brown rice and then in a skillet, I sauteed fancy snow peas and sesame seeds. Did not have mushrooms. Then tossed together and then added green olives then I salted as necessary. Oh, I almost forgot, a pinch of basil too. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
The first few bites of this, I wasn't impressed and almost thought that I would have to make something else, but it did grow on me. It's by no means my favorite recipe, but it is healthy and fairly cheap to make, and it fills you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I thought this was excellent. I added green peas. Cooked the rice in my rice cooker. I will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Made this for dinner last night as an accompanyment to my main dish of Calves' Liver with Sherry ( another great recipe from this site). I was trying to get a brown rice dish for this main coarse and the 'pilaf' caught my eye. Normally I don't use rice as my wife is not a rice fan, but I had made another pilaf a while back ( From Tase of Home )that she really liked, so tried this one (with some changes as others had suggested). I used a 14 oz. can of beef broth and a 10.5 oz. can of Cambells French Onion Soup instead of the water, and extra virgin olive oil instead of butter. I left out the carrots, salt, mushrooms ( wife doesn't like them) and the chickpeas. I added 2 roasted red peppers ( for color )cut up into 3/4" pieces for the mushrooms and used a small can of corn in place of the chickpeas. also did not use soy sauce. Other than that I followed the cooking time exactly, and the rice came out perfect. Wife said it was really good, so you get 5 stars. And it went very well with the Liver dish. It is another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Comerio P.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Spey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Well, I'm thrilled with this recipe! I say that I don't cook, and I don't usually but I was going away for the weekend with a group of people and I was told to bring a rice dish, so I found this one and read all of the comments. Then I decided on what I wanted in the recipe. Here's what I did. I was making it for a serving of 12, so I substituted one can of chicken broth for the water to cook the rice in, I only used 2 carrots (less than the recipe suggested for 12 servings), omitted eggs and chickpeas completely and used 1/2 bag of frozen peas, used pecans instead of walnuts, and added a hefty amount of dark raisins. It was a smash! Everyone loved it, as did I! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
left out the mushrooms because my children won't eat them & cooked the rice with chicken broth...we loved it. I have made it several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooker K

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States