Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Used 1 cup brown rice and 2.5c water. Omitted mushrooms, used great northern white beans instead of chick peas and chopped almonds instead of cashews. Added about 1tsp garlic salt since it tasted too bland. My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Omitted the mushrooms and chickpeas; Toasted almonds (right before sauteing onions) rather than use cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Wonderful! I always have trouble with brown rice, so I followed the cooking directions on the rice package, boiling 2 1/2 cups of whole long grain brown rice in 10 cups of water for 30 minutes. Then I drained the rice, returned to the pan and kept the lid on to steam while I followed the rest of the directions for this recipe (except no chickpeas or cashews - I didn't have any). I estimated how much rice to add to the veggies since I had more cooked rice than the recipe calls for. WOW! My family loved this! I served this with baked pork chops and steamed broccoli. I am looked forward to playing with this recipe as jen suggested. Thank you, jen for this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is a really different rice pilaf recipe which I was skeptical of because of the ingredients. However I decided to try it because it had such healthy ingredients. I served it with Souvlaki and it was a hit!! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I used millet dry roasted then with chicken stock to cook, tasted wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Pretty good rice. Healthy tasting and hearty. Made as stated except used a small onion and left out the garlic clove and ground pepper. I definitely agree with the people who advise cooking the rice in vegetable broth instead of plain water, and I'd suggest using 3 eggs. I made it with one whole bunch of fresh parsley, and I'd like to try it next with cilantro instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Excellent! I did this on a whim not expecting it to be so good. I devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Tasty enough,especially when sprinkled with soy sauce as recommended. One child ate it happily, one with the promise of dessert, and the third refused to eat more than a bite. DH and I both enjoyed it. I made it exactly as written with the exception of excluding the mushrooms, and adding some "Turkish Spice". Next time I'll try substituting cilantro for the parsley as it still seemed too bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
LOVE this!!! Used olive oil instead of butter and Cannellini beans instead of chickpeas. No mushrooms or nuts either. Was delicious! A nice lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Our local Chinese carry out, way over does it on the rice, and we always have tons of leftovers. So, I decided to use that rice for this dish instead of throwing it away. Delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States