Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This was very nice. I did not have chickpea so i used 2 stalks of celery and asparagus. To add in more flavor i added 1 jalapeno pepper(seeded). I put these in just about a minute after putting in carrots.I then seasoned with some Spanish paprika and pepper and salt.Then i added in mushrooms at about the same time, I used about 1/2 the amount of mushrooms since my son does not like them. Eggs were omitted too due to allergies. I do not want my vegetables cooked for a long time, i leave them crunchy to preserve the nutritious value. So i kind of stir fried them for about 3-4 minutes.I added in some sprinkles of soy sauce to add more flavor (mind the salt when you add in soy sauce). I removed from the fire added in cooked rice and about 1 tablespoon or less of chopped Chinese parsley. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I was really disappointed - had to throw it out. The rice wouldn't cook properly and when I increased the time on the stove, it burnt the uncooked rice so that the pan was a horrid mess. I usually have good luck with recipes on this site, but sadly this was a bust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I have made this twice this week and it will be a regular! I used green peas instead of chickpeas the second time, and liked that better. Also trickled in a little soy sauce at the end. I have not done the egg. Totally delicious! you could use any grain of choice or make other substitutions or additions too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made a few veggie substitutions to use what I had on hand and please the picky eaters in my family (no mushrooms!) and the recipe stilled turned out fantastic. Especially easy thanks to my beloved rice cooker, one of my favorite kitchen gadgets. I used 1/2 water 1/2 chicken stock with the rice for flavor. When I make it again I will probably punch up the heat a little with red/black/chili pepper spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was wonderful! I read the reviews and decided to follow the recipe exactly (how else can I give it an accurate review?) My kids wanted a 3rd helping. Make sure to add salt and pepper to taste at the end. I think the recommended soy sauce on the side would have ruined the dish. It didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
We were out of chickpeas and skipped the parsley, but this was very tasty. I appreciated adding soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was a delicious dish. I loved the fact that you can substitued or omit items without a problem. I just used things out of the veggie draw and added them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Diddles Allen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
The dish was alright, nothing spectacular. I probably would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I make this meal almost every week! Served with a little tamari, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This recipe has an abundance of subtle flavor. My husband loved it and asked for seconds. I was going to initially serve this as a side dish but it was so hearty that it stood on its own and I served it solo. When I combined the rice with the rest of the ingredients in the skillet, the mixture seemed a little dry so I added one cup of low-sodium chicken broth. That did the trick. Thanks for the great recipe, Jen. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States