Home Made Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! I made it exactly as written with organic olive oil. I used my stick blender, and it came together in 2 seconds. My kids and husband love it. Way better than store bought, which I will never buy again. I've even used this to make thousand island dressing. Omg, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I added fresh chopped cilantro. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Very easy to make and it makes quite a bit for one egg. I got a little over a half cup. I used vegetable oil and a smoothie blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Atkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
HAWT dog! This is Ahhhhmazing! I planned to make potatoe salad but ahh! I didn't have any mayo. This saved the dinner! Thank you for sharing this. I also followed the advice of slowly blending in the veggie oil (I used grape seed oil) as well as using the juices from my canned minced garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
My Family and I thought it had NO taste! I finally added some salt and it was better, but I am looking for another mayonnaise recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I just made this recipe, followed it exactly (used olive oil) and I regret to say it had a very bitter after taste. It looked good, was nice consistency but picked up a bad taste. Not to sure where the bitter came from... the yellow mustard most likely.. if I try it again I will try it as one person suggested, swapping out the mustard and lemon juice with white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Can anyone tell me the secret to making mayonnaise? I have tried a blender, also a hand blender yet all I ever end up with is a yellow colored oily mess that smells like mayonnaise but is nothing more than eggs and oil. I've tried making it several times and always get the same results even though I add the oil very slowly and have the speed on high as everyone recommends. It doesn't get thick or white or look anything like mayonnaise. That is the only reason that I am giving this recipe one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made this with my stick blender as one reviewer suggested. I have two blender cups that came with it and they allow you to really use the head of the blender. I will use extra virgin olive oil and see how that works. Added a bit of cumin and some Siracha at the end and made tuna salad for my lunch with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park River, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Got my cabbage shredded for cold slaw for lunch and realized I had no mayo. At home on a lunch break so I did not have much time. Found this recipe and had all the ingredients so I got out my Vitamix and followed the directions and it came out great. I used half EV olive oil and half Pecan oil I had. Turned out pretty darn good and the slaw is excellent. I'm working on it right now as a matter of fact. I very much like the fact that I know exactly what the ingredients are in my Mayo! I won't be buying any more store bought and will also try some of the other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brusly, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Port Allen, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I just finished making this, I used olive oil and it tastes disgusting. Now I've never made home made mayo before so I really don't have anything else to compare to but store bought (which is why I rated 3 and 0). But the flavor of this is really gross. It firmed up just fine, and was easy to make but the taste is bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States