Home Made Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This is a good recipe. The secret when making homemade mayonnaise is to pour the oil slowly while the blender is running. If the oil is poured to quickly or the blender is not on a high speed you get an oily mess. It is simple if you follow that simple rule. If you use olive oil it will have a strong taste, if you use canola oil it will be more like traditional mayonnaise. The most important thing though is this is the type of mayonnaise that you get food poisoning with if its left at room temperature because of the raw egg. DO NOT TAKE A POTATO SALAD TO A PICNIC AND LEAVE IT OUT. If you are going to a picnic use commercially prepared mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I like this recipe so far but switch out the mustard and the lemon juice and replace it with white wine vinegar at least 2 tablespoons of it. and leave out the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This might be totally out of the box for mayonnaise, but I used Eggbeaters and it turned out great! I added more garlic also, as I'll be using the mayo in a salad dressing, and it is also great. I may never buy mayonnaise again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I called the Eggbeaters company to find out how much to use to equal one whole egg. Answer: 1/4 cup equals one whole egg. If you need it, the equivalent of one egg yolk is one tablespoon of Eggbeaters. I like the safety of using a pasturized product instead of raw egg for this recipe. By the way, the Eggbeaters representative told me that Eggbeaters can be used to make ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Free fall chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I have made this for years since I first received a Braun stick blender for Christmas! Before, I had not much success making my own mayo, but the stick blender makes it in less than one minute. Place all ingredients in the bottom of a tall narrow container that your stick blender can fit easily in. Place blender all the way to the bottom, turn on and slowly raise the blender. If any of the oil doesn't blend right in, just move the blender up and down to incorporate! Easy, delicious! thank you for sharing Cynthia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I tried this using Olive oil and fresh lemon juice... it is amazing! Made the best egg salad my family has ever had, everyone should try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is a great mayonnaise recipe. You need to use the blender to get it thick, and slowly pour the oil in. I used just a little garlic juice, from a jar of minced garlic. And I used white vinegar instead of lemon juice. Perfect when you are out of mayonnaise and don't want to go to the store - as any cook knows, "miracle whip" is no substitue for real mayonnaise in a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Well, it smelled like mayonnaise. I mixed mine in the Kitechenaid with the wisk. Maybe it would turn out better in a blender. Mine turned out runny and didn't taste that great. It was green/yellow in color. I think I'll stick to prepared mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Excellent homemade mayo. Simple to put together. I followed as written, was very impressed with the creamy texture! The flavor of the oil does come through, so be sure it's one you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
The trick to great mayonnaise is adding 1 tsp cold water because it spaces the fat molecules thus creating a stronger more stable emulsion. Thank-you NY Times for that tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States