Home Made Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was so easy! I took the advice of another reviewer and just dumped everything in my immersion blender jar, blended for 30 seconds, and voila--mayonnaise with the same texture as store bought. The only thing I don't like about mine is that I used half melted coconut oil and half olive oil; the taste of the olive oil is pretty strong. It still tastes good and next time I'll try extra light olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
A stick blender is key in this recipe...thank you to all those who suggested it! I made several attempts to make this in my blender, and became increasingly frustrated with each greasy, gloppy end result (after slowww pouring of the olive oil). "The stick blender makes it in less than one minute. Place all ingredients in the bottom of a tall narrow container that your stick blender can fit easily in. Place blender all the way to the bottom, turn on and slowly raise the blender. If any of the oil doesn't blend right in, just move the blender up and down to incorporate!" Thank you to Cynthia for the recipe and Robinm for the stick blender idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
My first time making mayo...very, very important to add the oil extremely slowly. I used olive oil & loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was excellent! We had chicken burgers for dinner and realized I had no mayo for the buns. I looked up this recipe and made it. It was so quick and while I was afraid it wouldn't taste like "real" mayonnaise, I was pleasantly surprised! It looked and tasted just like real mayonnaise. I think we'll be making our own from now on and save some money! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This mayo ROCKS! It is nice and thick and doesn't use xanathan gum or other thickeners for the right consistency. The garlic... thank you! The pepper... never thought of that one, but AWESOME. My children LOVE it, I LOVE it. This mayo is a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
The WORST recipe I have ever tried to make! Nothing but a puddle of greasy. Do not recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doubletapgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was very bland and flavorless. I had to add salt. It was also quite pale and a bit limp. I think I prefer the Julia Child recipe, which is essentially the same as this one, but with the addition of two egg yolks, a bit more oil, as well as carefully measured salt and white pepper. I added Julia's two yolks, some fresh tarragon from the garden and it was much better. Remember to use pure olive oil, not extra virgin, as that will harden and separate in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This way better then store bought mayo. Excellent rescipe. Thanks for this. Now I can customize how I like it. A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I have tried this three times now. Still can't get it to be anything but a puddle. Tomorrow I will try one more time with my food processor instead of my blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Great recipe, after I made it a added a bit of Dijon with horseradish and mikes it in with my lobster! Fabulous!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States