Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My first attempt came out alright, if a little bland, although I used less lemon juice I believe (having quartered the recipe.) I added some minced garlic and some black pepper to the mix when I added the lemon juice. I folded in a little salt to the finished product, and it was pretty darn good. It ended up with a soft texture, like feta but more moist. I came up with a nice idea on my second attempt. Just as I added turned the heat off, I ladled a bit into another pot with some cooked and slightly buttered angel hair pasta, adding some lemon juice to this as well as the rest of the liquid. After adding some various seasonings and letting it sit for a few minutes, it had become a pretty great cream sauce. My batch of farmer's cheese itself turned out quite crumbly, so I topped the pasta off with some. If you don't want to go to the trouble of letting the milk clot with the pasta, I've also found that the whey can add a nice rich and creamy texture to any cream-type pasta sauce you like to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was my first time making cheese and it turned out beautifully! I agree with one other user that the plain cheese was rather bland on its own, even with the pinch of salt. I thought it would have made a lovely herbed cheese spread if I'd gone that route. As it is, I ended up making a couple lasagnas with it, and oh man! It was DELICIOUS! I typically use cottage cheese, not ricotta, in my lasagnas, but this by far topped them both! My husband couldn't get over how creamy and rich this was! Thanks for a fun easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was simple enough, but more hassle than it is worth for the amount of cheese you get. I added crushed garlic and was please with the result though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I totally messed this up the first time,but cause i did not read other peoples tips.But i will do it again,the little bit of cheese i did get was great. I may have to up grade this to 5 stars,if i can do it right. Thanks for sharing this,cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I made this using the vinegar instead of the lemon juice. It was fantastic. After it drained for a day or so I added some garlic and onion powder and a tad bit of parsley to it, oh and a little bit of salt. It is delicious on crusty french bread. I tried some yesterday with a couple of mandarin oranges cut into it. The difference in the two textures was wonderful. I think I will try this again and add different spices this time. The variety of tastes you can give this cheese is endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I am so so sorry, but this recipe was not very good. I had wish it would be because I always wanted to try homemade cheese. It was bland and tasteless. Maybe someone can tell me what went wrong. Will try it again with more salt and maybe add something else. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I took the advice of the other reviewers and used 1/2 cup of white vinegar to 1 gallon of whole milk and it worked beautifully. I didn't need to reheat for more curds and it yielded about a pound of cheese. It smelled and tasted delicious! No vinegar taste whatsoever. Highly recommended if you enjoy making pierogies with this sort of cheese since it's hard to come by in the stores and this recipe makes it so much cheaper than buying it yourself anyway! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Use vinegar, not lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I've made this sort of cheese for 35 years and I can tell you that one must beware of ULTRA Pasteurized milk. I couldn't figure out why all of a sudden I had little curd formation. Thought I had lost my touch or something...but found that the problem wasn't me...it was my buying a real good brand of milk (vs a store brand) that was ULTRA Pasteurized. Since then I have read it has poor yield if it even works at all. Not worth the time and effort. Hope this helps those who had issues. It probably wasn't you...just the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Kind of worked, but not as well as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States