Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was great. I used it as part of my X-mas gift to some co-workers, Very easy and impressive. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
So easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This did not come out..it was way too watery. I had to add another lemon and a quarter cup of white vinegar to make it curdle..it's still sitting on my stove...I hate to waste a whole gallon of milk!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I made this with a half gallon of whole milk. I followed other reviewer's recommendations and used a vinegar/lemon juice blend. Curds formed immediately. I waited the full ten minutes before straining through clean panty hose. I got just over a cup of cheese and seasoned it with garlic, onion, black pepper, paprika and celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I've made this a few times for my family and they love it!:) I want to try it with goat milk but haven't yet!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Ingredients 1.) 1/2 Liter of milk, (very little curdage, must be ultra pasturized, don't know, because everything is in korean xD) 2.) x amount of whipping creme 3.) half a lemon 4.) half a teaspoon of salt Absolutely loved this recipe, added a little twist though , just made a starter batch thus far but will attempt again. I'm living in korea and haven't bought a measuring cup yet so I had to improvise, used a 500ml water bottle to measure out half a liter of milk, then added, x amount of whipping cream (notched bottle, 2nd notch from bottom, something like 1/6th of 500ml, and yes I'm horrible at math so don't ask what 1/6th of 500ml would be) xD. brought this to a slight boil for 30 seconds, then turned off the heat, added half a lemon/juice and slowly stirred it in, let sit for 10, realised I forgot to add salt, added salt, 3 pinches -ish and brought back to a light boil, let stand for 10 then poured out into collander w paper towels, have a very soft cheese, very little curd, firm in the fridge, has a wonderful hint of lemon and is outstandingly refreshing, wonderful recipe, thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
WOW! I actually just finished this! It worked. I did a full gallon of milk - first time around I kind of scortched it and didn't get much out of it. I cleaned the pot and reheated the milk (was still white). I got it boiling again and added another 1/4 cup of lemon juice and now a have A LOT of farmers cheese! I am so excited! My family is doing a project like we are eating like the world and this week we choose Poland for our country and so many recipies called for Farmers Cheese! So happy I found this recipe here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
WOW! I really can't believe this works! I had a box of UHT milk that went bad somehow, so I thought it was worth the experiement and it really worked. I did not have any cheese cloth OR pantyhose, but a regular dish towel worked fine and did not even stick. Amazing! Will do it again for sure, probably adding some flavors. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Followed the directions used 1/2 gal of milk and an 1/8 cup lemon juice. The result was very little curd after 10 minutes. Ran liquid thru cheesecloth then took the remaining liquid and reheated then tried the white vinegar. Within seconds my liquid separated into curd and whey. My recommendation is not to waste time on the lemon juice but go straight for the vinegar. 1/2 gal of milk produced 1 cup of cheese. Next time I do this I might try different vinegars and see how this affects the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Quite excellent simply because of how easy it was. It turned out fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States