Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I totally messed this up the first time,but cause i did not read other peoples tips.But i will do it again,the little bit of cheese i did get was great. I may have to up grade this to 5 stars,if i can do it right. Thanks for sharing this,cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I made this using the vinegar instead of the lemon juice. It was fantastic. After it drained for a day or so I added some garlic and onion powder and a tad bit of parsley to it, oh and a little bit of salt. It is delicious on crusty french bread. I tried some yesterday with a couple of mandarin oranges cut into it. The difference in the two textures was wonderful. I think I will try this again and add different spices this time. The variety of tastes you can give this cheese is endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I am so so sorry, but this recipe was not very good. I had wish it would be because I always wanted to try homemade cheese. It was bland and tasteless. Maybe someone can tell me what went wrong. Will try it again with more salt and maybe add something else. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I took the advice of the other reviewers and used 1/2 cup of white vinegar to 1 gallon of whole milk and it worked beautifully. I didn't need to reheat for more curds and it yielded about a pound of cheese. It smelled and tasted delicious! No vinegar taste whatsoever. Highly recommended if you enjoy making pierogies with this sort of cheese since it's hard to come by in the stores and this recipe makes it so much cheaper than buying it yourself anyway! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Use vinegar, not lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I've made this sort of cheese for 35 years and I can tell you that one must beware of ULTRA Pasteurized milk. I couldn't figure out why all of a sudden I had little curd formation. Thought I had lost my touch or something...but found that the problem wasn't me...it was my buying a real good brand of milk (vs a store brand) that was ULTRA Pasteurized. Since then I have read it has poor yield if it even works at all. Not worth the time and effort. Hope this helps those who had issues. It probably wasn't you...just the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Kind of worked, but not as well as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I followed the tips from some of the other reviewers and was able to get a wonderful amount of cheese from this recipe! This is so great and easy to do! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Made 1 batch using lemon juice and it didn't work, tried again using vinegar and it worked great. Used as filling for pieogies. Cost much less than store bought and I can use organic milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Worked great! First time I've made cheese and it was a lot of fun. I may have the cheese-making bug now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States