Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
What a great recipe! I can't believe how easy it was to make farmers cheese! I wanted to make perogies for my husband, but the closest place I know of to get farmers cheese is almost an hour away, so I thought I would give it a try. I halved the recipe (only because I didn't want to waste a whole gallon of milk if it didn't work). I did have 2 cups of heavy cream in the frige that had just expired, so I threw that in there too. I didn't have any luck with the leftover whey, but I didn't expect to because it was pretty clear. The cheese turned out sweet and velvety, I am really hoping that I have enough for the perogies after I've been taste testing it! I will be making this all the time. AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
PLEASE READ: Do NOT use skimmed milk. It will curdle and give you rubber cheese. I know the recipe called for whole milk, and it does so for a reason. I had both so did a test. Whole milk wins hands down! Made with whole milk and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Beautiful recipe!! The vinegar seems to be the key, and since I don't want the lemon flavor in my cheese, I'll stick to vinegar - Farmer's cheese IS bland after all. I come from an Eastern European family and my great aunts miss good Farmer's cheese for their recipes. Well, now I can make it, AND our traditional recipes like Plakcinta and Hunklich!! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyTiger3m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was great. I used it as part of my X-mas gift to some co-workers, Very easy and impressive. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
So easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This did not come out..it was way too watery. I had to add another lemon and a quarter cup of white vinegar to make it curdle..it's still sitting on my stove...I hate to waste a whole gallon of milk!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I made this with a half gallon of whole milk. I followed other reviewer's recommendations and used a vinegar/lemon juice blend. Curds formed immediately. I waited the full ten minutes before straining through clean panty hose. I got just over a cup of cheese and seasoned it with garlic, onion, black pepper, paprika and celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Livingston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I've made this a few times for my family and they love it!:) I want to try it with goat milk but haven't yet!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Ingredients 1.) 1/2 Liter of milk, (very little curdage, must be ultra pasturized, don't know, because everything is in korean xD) 2.) x amount of whipping creme 3.) half a lemon 4.) half a teaspoon of salt Absolutely loved this recipe, added a little twist though , just made a starter batch thus far but will attempt again. I'm living in korea and haven't bought a measuring cup yet so I had to improvise, used a 500ml water bottle to measure out half a liter of milk, then added, x amount of whipping cream (notched bottle, 2nd notch from bottom, something like 1/6th of 500ml, and yes I'm horrible at math so don't ask what 1/6th of 500ml would be) xD. brought this to a slight boil for 30 seconds, then turned off the heat, added half a lemon/juice and slowly stirred it in, let sit for 10, realised I forgot to add salt, added salt, 3 pinches -ish and brought back to a light boil, let stand for 10 then poured out into collander w paper towels, have a very soft cheese, very little curd, firm in the fridge, has a wonderful hint of lemon and is outstandingly refreshing, wonderful recipe, thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
WOW! I actually just finished this! It worked. I did a full gallon of milk - first time around I kind of scortched it and didn't get much out of it. I cleaned the pot and reheated the milk (was still white). I got it boiling again and added another 1/4 cup of lemon juice and now a have A LOT of farmers cheese! I am so excited! My family is doing a project like we are eating like the world and this week we choose Poland for our country and so many recipies called for Farmers Cheese! So happy I found this recipe here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States