Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
1st time making cheese, super easy recipe. I had some 2% milk that was getting close to going bad and lemon from one of those plastic bottles. I also used paper towels instead of cheese cloth (just bought some on Amazon). I threw in Basil, Chili Peppers, and Garlic. Came out perfect and after chilling I ate it all with crackers in 1 sitting. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Good basic farmer's cheese recipe. I stir in buttermilk prior to adding the lemon juice, that's the way I was taught. Haven't tried it without buttermilk. Broqnwing, try again. As one review mentioned maybe the lemons weren't acidic enough, though lemon always works for me. Also DO NOT use ultrapasturized milk, won't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-Jane Nash
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I followed the comments and used vinegar instead of lemon juice. Also added quite a bit of salt (couple of pinches) before adding the vinegar. I used 1/4 cup white distilled vinegar with 1litre of milk just to try. Ended up with a small fist sized cheese that I rolled in crushed black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was great! I had some milk that was going to spoil anyway, so I thought what the heck and gave it a whirl. I only had 1 1/2 cups of 1% and 2 1/2 cups of 2%, but it worked out wonderfully! 4 cups of milk + 20g of vinegar and a squirt of lemon. My own homemade *lowfat* cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Wow. Okay, so I was totally intimidated at first...but this was super easy - and I'm no Martha Stewart, either. I dumped a gallon of milk in the pot, stirred it a couple times, saw foam first but waited until I saw bubbles and then turned off the heat and added 1/2 cup of distilled white vinegar. Saw the separation immediately, let it sit for ten minutes (while I danced happily around my living room) and then strained it through cheese cloth. Voila. It is a very mild, sweet cheese - a great base for anything you might want to do with it. Great recipe....and super cheap!!! :) Shazaam! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Good easy way to make cheese - turns out more like ricotta cheese. I didn't have a thermometer handy, so I guessed as to the temp and added the lemon juice but only got a small portion of the milk to curdle. I strained that out, and put the milk back on the stove to heat up again. The second time I added the lemon juice, the curdling happened instantly and it worked like a charm. You know you're done when the liquid is a clear yellowish color, and no longer white. Just make sure you have a couple big bowls and a good strainer. As another reviewer mentioned, fold your cheesecloth a couple times so the mesh is very small to get all the curds. The cheese was very bland, since I probably didn't put enough salt into the milk at the beginning, so I ended up adding a bunch of salt to the cheese afterwards, and that helped. Next time I will put more salt in the milk at the beginning stage. I used the cheese as a spread on top of bagels, then also for making lasagna. Both tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Didn't seperate until I added 1/4 cup of plain white vinegar in addition to the lemon. Scald until 180 degrees, don't wait on bubbles as you create them my stirring. But result was my 86 year old Polish mother couldn't tell this chesse from the store bought and this is so much cheaper. I made two batches (2 gallons of milk) and it was enough for 5 lbs of potatoes for a day of pierogi maknig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Works great I use it like ricotta cheese. Don't throw out the whey it adds character and nutrition to homemade bread instead of plain water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISHIBEE
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I've always hated throwing expired milk out- now I have a use for it! I might have overcooked it....I had a quarter gallon of 2%, so I set the jug in a large pot of water, turned the stove on. After the water started boiling, I waited for the milk to boil, but it didn't (is it supposed to??), so I just let it set for almost 30 minutes at probably 190ish F, then added several tablespoons of lemon and tarragon vinegar, as well as a little seasoned salt. I gave the jug a good shake then let it cool for an hour. Then I put an old (but clean :) ) knee high over the tup of the jug and turned it upside. To my surprise and delight, about a cup of cheese is now hanging out in the bottom. I just tasted it- delicious! Texture reminds me of soft cottage cheese- still looks like curdles, but so much fun and so yummy! Thanks! p.s.- I'm adding a photo to show texture a bit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
What a great recipe! I can't believe how easy it was to make farmers cheese! I wanted to make perogies for my husband, but the closest place I know of to get farmers cheese is almost an hour away, so I thought I would give it a try. I halved the recipe (only because I didn't want to waste a whole gallon of milk if it didn't work). I did have 2 cups of heavy cream in the frige that had just expired, so I threw that in there too. I didn't have any luck with the leftover whey, but I didn't expect to because it was pretty clear. The cheese turned out sweet and velvety, I am really hoping that I have enough for the perogies after I've been taste testing it! I will be making this all the time. AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States