Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
this recipe makes wonderful, versatile soft cheese! i think the other reviewers had a problem because of the temperature of the milk when they added the juice. also, lemons vary in size, so measure the juice (or white vinegar works, too). to a gallon of milk, heated to 190 degrees, 1/4 c vinegar or lemon juice should work. and please, use a thermometer! don't rely on "bubbles" which could form at a much lower temperature depending on your altitude! also, let it sit for a full 10 minutes to let the curds fully form! i use 4 layers of cheesecloth (it usually comes folded in half in the packages i buy, so i fold that in half again) so no curds slip through. strain your whey into a container and if it is not yellow, but WHITE, heat the milk and do it all again... the white means there are still milk solids (cheese) contained in the whey that you can extract. when it is through dripping whey out of the cheesecloth (an hour or two) unwrap it and put it in a container in the fridge. i usually make ricotta out of it by sticking the curds in the blender, adding a little milk and blending until smooth. i have made the BEST lasagna with it... VERY creamy mouthfeel and melts delightfully! next, i'm going to try making tangier cream cheese by mixing it with plain, lightly salted yogurt cheese (recipe from this site, but leave out the garlic and black pepper) which is much smoother! PLEASE don't give up on making cheese! try my tips and see how it turns out! thanks, mlyin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
555 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This is great! I make buttermilk by adding 1 T of lemon juice to 1 C milk and wait 5 min. If the milk doesn't curdle, you either don't have enough lemon juice or did not wait long enough. After making the cheese, save the left over butter milk for pancakes (my kids love buttermilk pancakes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
People, read the reviews on this one! The advice by another poster helped me make perfect cheese the very first time with this recipe. Make sure you measure your lemon juice (1/4 cup to a gallon of milk) and use a thermometer. Letting it rest the full ten minutes is important. Also, every time I have made this (and I now use this recipe all the time to make ricotta cheese but also to make syrnyky and blintzes) I have had to reheat the milk mixture to get the full amount of cheese. Remember, until you only see yellow whey left behind, you still have milk solids that, if reheated, will become cheese! Strain it once and if your liquid is still milky white, reheat and add more lemon juice and it will all turn into cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I'm glad I read the reviews! The first go round I had about a 1/4 cup of cheese and thought - that doesn't seem right? So I read the review that stated what was left over and still white, boil again. And VIOLA! This time instant curdle! Fantastic! Thanks for the great recipe and the helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Worked great! First time I've made cheese and it was a lot of fun. I may have the cheese-making bug now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Made 1 batch using lemon juice and it didn't work, tried again using vinegar and it worked great. Used as filling for pieogies. Cost much less than store bought and I can use organic milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I followed the tips from some of the other reviewers and was able to get a wonderful amount of cheese from this recipe! This is so great and easy to do! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I took the advice of the other reviewers and used 1/2 cup of white vinegar to 1 gallon of whole milk and it worked beautifully. I didn't need to reheat for more curds and it yielded about a pound of cheese. It smelled and tasted delicious! No vinegar taste whatsoever. Highly recommended if you enjoy making pierogies with this sort of cheese since it's hard to come by in the stores and this recipe makes it so much cheaper than buying it yourself anyway! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I tried to make this cheese,a pinch of salt..... heated the milk till the bubbles came to the edges and added the lemon juice....poured it into a cheese cloth....but no cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I tried this recipe tonight and the results were excellent. I had only 4 cups of milk, so I used 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. I heated the milk to 190F, removed it from the heat, and stirred in the lemon juice, then let it sit for 10 minutes, then drained it in cheesecloth. Perfect -- I'm going to use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States