Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Awesome. I've been wanting to try to make cheese forever, but figured it would be difficult. I decided to just try a small batch and it is totally cheese! Now I'm thinking of so many creative things to make using this basic recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wigan, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Don't throw away the whey! It can be used as a buttermilk substitute. I've used it in biscuits, gravy and many other things where milk is called for, adding a unique flavor. The easiest way that I've found to keep it is to pre-measure amounts, pour that into small ziploc bags and freeze. That way you have a handy supply that only takes a few minutes to thaw in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I had no problems with the cheese forming. And I followed the recipe exactly. But I didn't like the flavor or the texture of the cheese. The flavor really wasn't bad it just wasn't there. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I halved this recipe since it was my first time making it. I put the milk in the pan straight from the fridge and so it took a long time to heat up and it scorched - I'll let it reach room temperature first next time. I added the juice of half a lemon and nothing happened. So I added the other half and voila! The curds seperated from the whey so quickly I didn't need to wait 10 minutes! The cheese came out beautifully! However, it is rather bland, with only the slightest taste of lemon. Next time I will add herbs and spices (I'm thinking sun dried tomatoes and basil or hot peppers would be wonderful). I used the cheese to attempt a grilled cheese sandwich. Unfortunately, the cheese didn't melt well at all and I was rather disappointed. I'll try using it in other recipes to see how versatile it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Awful! I ended up throwing a whole gallon of milk and the juice of one whole lemon down the drain - no cheese whatsoever. Big waste of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I took the advice of the reviews after trying this recipe the first time. I got a much better yeild. I also let the milk come to room temperature, and that will help to keep the milk from scorching before coming to temperature. Good idea...fun for the kids and my son came in 2nd in the science fair for making cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pinewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Thanks Mylin! I used 2% milk. I even blundered by putting the lemon juice in before cooking. After cooking I did put in some additional vinegar and "poof" it was like magic when the curds formed! Fun for the kids to watch too. Will never buy ricotta or farmer's cheese again! Will try with some fresh herbs as a spread for crackers, yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My first attempt came out alright, if a little bland, although I used less lemon juice I believe (having quartered the recipe.) I added some minced garlic and some black pepper to the mix when I added the lemon juice. I folded in a little salt to the finished product, and it was pretty darn good. It ended up with a soft texture, like feta but more moist. I came up with a nice idea on my second attempt. Just as I added turned the heat off, I ladled a bit into another pot with some cooked and slightly buttered angel hair pasta, adding some lemon juice to this as well as the rest of the liquid. After adding some various seasonings and letting it sit for a few minutes, it had become a pretty great cream sauce. My batch of farmer's cheese itself turned out quite crumbly, so I topped the pasta off with some. If you don't want to go to the trouble of letting the milk clot with the pasta, I've also found that the whey can add a nice rich and creamy texture to any cream-type pasta sauce you like to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was my first time making cheese and it turned out beautifully! I agree with one other user that the plain cheese was rather bland on its own, even with the pinch of salt. I thought it would have made a lovely herbed cheese spread if I'd gone that route. As it is, I ended up making a couple lasagnas with it, and oh man! It was DELICIOUS! I typically use cottage cheese, not ricotta, in my lasagnas, but this by far topped them both! My husband couldn't get over how creamy and rich this was! Thanks for a fun easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was simple enough, but more hassle than it is worth for the amount of cheese you get. I added crushed garlic and was please with the result though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States