Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I've made this before, maybe 5 years ago, i heated the milk for a short time, and the result was a cheese that tasted like glue, i added little salt and the vinegar overpowered it. I made it once more today and the taste was amazing, as well as the texture, if at first you don't succeed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I'm glad I read all 63 previous reviews, I used vinegar, and used the one reviewers method of heating the milk in the jug, it worked great! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it has taken ALL DAY to strain through 2 layers of cheesecloth...Maybe I should have used a single layer? Was really hoping to make pierogi TODAY...wish I had done it last night!Ready in 25 minutes, HAH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I'd like to try this. I'd like to add a little garlic, parsley, and some green onion. Should I do this during the cooking or after. If after while its cooling or after draining the whey. thanks for any advice. RD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Tasted ok. Will probably reserve this recipe when I need ricotta cheese in another recipe that also requires lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
My mom used to make a hot sausage frittata and mixed farmers, or basket cheese into the egg mixture. That is sometimes hard to find in a store except around Easter time (the good kind). This is a very easy recipe to make your own cheese. I used whole mlk, and once the milk was over 190 degrees i mixed 1/2 lemon juice and 1/2 cider vinegar, turned off the heat and let the magic happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
What a delicious, fast, simple & satisfying pursuit. First tme cheese maker, Result = perfect with this recipe. Supermarket whole milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I AM POLISH,AND THE STORE I SHOP AT DID NOT HAVE FARMERS CHEESE WHICH IS WHAT I USE FOR MY HOMEMADE PIOROGIS, WELL I TRIED THIS RECIPE AND EVEN THOUGH I HAD TO DO IT TWICE, IT LOOKS AND THE TEXTURE IS LIKE THE STORE BOUGHT STUFF. HOPE MY PIOROGIS ARE AS GOOD AS THIS CHEESE LOOKS. I DID ADD MORE SALT, BLACK PEPPER AND ONION POWDER TO THE RECIPE CAUSE I ADD ONIONS WHEN I MIX IT IN MY MASHED POTATOS. I,VE ONLY MADE PIOROGIS 3 TIMES IN MY LIFE SINCE MY GRANDMOTHER TAUGHT ME IN 1960. I DID NOT FORGET ANYTHING SHE TAUGHT ME, HOORAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
first time making this cheese was a success easy to follow and nice rich soft cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this last night, used the microwave method that works great for yogurt. It is super easy to make, can be set up 30 minutes before bedtime. Pour half a gallon of whole milk in a glass bowl - I use the pampered chef 8-cup batter bowl. Microwave to 180 degrees, about 13 minutes - use your thermometer and never let it boil. Meanwhile, pour 2 cups of buttermilk in a large bowl and add the salt. Pour hot milk over buttermilk and stir gently. Pour 3 Tablespoons of white vinegar into bowl and stir gently. Don't touch for 10 minutes. Drain into paper towel-lined colander in your sink. Cover with paper towel and let sit in fridge while you sleep. In the morning you have about 3 cups worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Some people call it bland cheese. It lacks good bacteria and a zest of sourness. I tried both with lemon juice and buttermilk. It curded great, yielded a bit less then my usual method, but it was tasteless. I made several batches, did my research, let my American friends taste it and then gave them my original version to taste (where buttermilk added to lukewarm milk, ferments and separated from whey in the oven). They liked the fermented farmer's cheese. It tastes great in crepes, bakes, and pastries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yenechka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States