Home-Made Cream of Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
The worst recipe ever! I should have read some of the reviews. I ruined my whole dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Great recipe to have, this tastes very good and keeps me from buying canned soup at the grocery store. I mostly use this soup in recipes that call for any type of cream soup. The only changes I made were that I used butter instead of oil to make the roux (same amount) and didn't add sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I loved this. I added another Tbs of flour to thicken it up and added home made dumplings. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Superb. I made this almost exactly leaving out only the sugar. I'm currently using it as an ingredient in another recipe it's so good (Baked Chicken Broccoli and Rice by Campbell's Kitchen) in place of the suggested Cream of Chicken and Broccoli Condensed Soup. My eldest daughter wanted me to add that this soup six stars out of five. She's a "cream of ..." connousieur. My husband is very impressed with the recipe as well and hopes to make it into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Salafia
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Well I found myself out of the can of cream of chicken so I decided to make it myself. It was very simple but very bland. I did add a good amount of salt, pepper, garlic and some salt free season all type stuff. I would say this is a great base but if you want flavor be prepared to add lots of it your self. I did do the 1/2 milk 1/2 chicken broth, actually maybe if I didn't use the low sodium broth it may have helped. Thanks for the recipe!! It saved me from a trip to the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shani
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I made this twice. Once as written and again with some changes. As written, this is too sweet and bland. Also too soupy. Not at all thick in the amount of cooking time listed. The second time I made some changes that improved the flavor and thickness. I boiled 2 chicken breasts and used 2 cups of the broth and 2 cups milk. I did not add sugar. I substituted the garlic and salt for one chicken boullion cube. I then simmered this over medium low for about an hour (until it reduced by half). I then added a little bit of cornstarch to thicken it a little more. If comparing this to the canned variety, with the changes I made this is very close. After reducing I only ended up with about 2 1/2 cups of finished soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made the homemade cream of chicken soup for lunch, here are my adjustments; I had some leftover baked turkey, used it instead of chicken, used butter instead of oil, added a small onion, fresh chives and 1/4 clove of garlic. Reduced sugar to 1 teaspoon. It was delicious, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Love the flavor with the garlic. I used olive oil instead of canola- much healthier. Also I did not add the sugar. It was delicious. I tasted and loved the taste so I decided it did not need it. I love this recipe because store bought stuff has msg in it. Also this is much cheaper. I also did not add the chicken and added 1/2 teas. sp. chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I've always bought the canned soup for recipes, but after finding this recipe for homemade soup, I'll never go back to store bought again. It's super economical, not to mention it tastes WAY better! I did add a bouillon cube and left out the chicken. I also subbed butter for the oil, and left out the sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awhitmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe. I have used it several times now for recipes calling for cream of chicken soup. I only use 1tbs of the sugar and I always use one cube of chicken bullion. It is so good! Do not forget the garlic powder, it really adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States