Home-Fried Cheese Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Great recipe & simple to make! I double-coated and then froze them earlier in the day. When ready to cook them I only had to heat the oil in the fryer and they were ready in no time--about 2-3 minutes. I did add Lawry's Seasoned Salt to the bread crumbs to insure a good, rich flavor in the breading. Served them alongside 'Exquisite Pizza Sauce' from this site. The whole family gobbled them up. I am glad that I thought ahead and made extra which are now waiting for me in the freezer for next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
These tasted just like the mozzarella sticks you would order in a resturant as an appetizer. I didn't use the same bread crumbs to coat the entire time because the egg made it clump up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Easy to make and are delicious. Made half and froze half for later. I will never order these again in a resturant. Just as good and cost friendly to make at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
These were excellent! I followed the recipe exactly! The breading came out perfect. No one could believe I made them from scratch. I made a double batch and put some in the freezer. They freeze great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Love the idea of freezing them. It is an essential step! However, even with the seasoned bread crumbs, I felt the coating was a little bland. I may need to add some garlic powder and other spices to the breadcrumbs next time I make them. And I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was a delicious idea and I love the fact that the kids were able to help out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Subbed corn crumbs because I was out of breadcrumbs, but otherwise followed recipe exactly. Dip, coat, rest, dip, coat, freeze. The resting time is crucial, do not skip it. After freezing, I heated about 2 cups oil in a medium pan. It just missed covering the tops of the sticks. I turned them about 2 times each, and when the cheese was just beginning to ooze out (about 2-3 minutes), pulled them out and served right away. The cheese was just gooey, the crust stayed on tight and was really crispy, they behaved like good restaurant cheese sticks. The corn coating wasn't a perfect fit, flavor-wise, but the recipe is spot-on perfection. Used Exquisite Pizza Sauce from Allrecipes for dipping sauce. Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
The recipe is simple and is easy to make but I had two problems with this one even though I followed it exactly. Firstly the cheese used is string cheese which in my mind is quite a chewy cheese, I used mozzarella string cheese and secondly the sticks, cooking at five minutes in deep oil at 350 is too long, I lifted them out after some cheese started oozing out of the coating in just 2 minutes even though I had previously frozen them for 2 hours, but this was not a major problem just that they were quite chewy and not tasty enough and no body had more than one stick. I prefer the store bought frozen varieties to satisfy our taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I actually made this on a whim after I'd made marinara in the crockpot. What goes better with homemade marinara than fried cheese sticks? I cut this recipe back by half (I didn't want to use 2 1/2 eggs--I went ahead and just used three). I don't normally keep bread crumbs on hand, what I DID have was a couple bags of those Texas Toast croutons (free due to couponing!!!)--I ground them down to crumbs using my food processor. Other than that small change, I kept to the recipe. I did fry them in hot oil in my cast iron skillet. I made sure to watch the sticks and turn them just slightly with my tongs to make sure they browned evenly. Very simple. The boys thought this was the BEST. I swear, they had all of them gone in ten minutes. If that. Great recipe--it may not be an everyday indulgence but every now and then, it's nice to have some cheesy deep fried goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Good flavor but they fell apart while frying them. Still a very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Severed Finger Cheese Sticks

See how to make a deeply disturbing, shockingly tasty Halloween treat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States