Home-Fried Cheese Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
OK, Ms Missy...I made a double batch, sticking half in freezer. First batch disappeared in record time. I was told I was seen sticking extra in freezer but couldn't I go ahead and cook those too? 24 for 6 people was not enough. Went remarkably well with a big pitcher of lemonade! Kids and adults raved over them. BIG keeper! Thanks Melissa. Everyone is looking forward to a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I actually made this on a whim after I'd made marinara in the crockpot. What goes better with homemade marinara than fried cheese sticks? I cut this recipe back by half (I didn't want to use 2 1/2 eggs--I went ahead and just used three). I don't normally keep bread crumbs on hand, what I DID have was a couple bags of those Texas Toast croutons (free due to couponing!!!)--I ground them down to crumbs using my food processor. Other than that small change, I kept to the recipe. I did fry them in hot oil in my cast iron skillet. I made sure to watch the sticks and turn them just slightly with my tongs to make sure they browned evenly. Very simple. The boys thought this was the BEST. I swear, they had all of them gone in ten minutes. If that. Great recipe--it may not be an everyday indulgence but every now and then, it's nice to have some cheesy deep fried goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I originally tried and reviewed this recipe before it was published. I will share my review from then. March 5, 2012 - Awesome! I made these for Super Bowl Sunday this year and they turned out great! I coated twice per the instructions but I still had a slight problem with the cheese oozing out. Make sure you coat the cheese well with the breadcrumbs. Just as good as store bought but I had the satisfaction of making them myself! Thanks Melissa for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
yum! these were crispy and delicious. I only used 6 sticks, which reduced the bread crumbs to 3/4 cup. If you're trying to save your crumbs, I'd go with 1/2 cup to start with, since I had some left over. they also crisped up pretty quickly, so keep an eye on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
These are SOOO GOOD! I had the pleasure of making them when they were a "personal recipe". They are a favorite at our house. My review was as follows: YUMMY! Such a nice coating and they froze so well. I took them out of the hot oil as soon as they browned so as not to burn. I followed that up with a few seconds in the microwave to be sure they were done inside. I served them with "Clone of a pretzel dip" and they were so YUMMY! They made a great addition to our "dippers". Thank you mis7up for sharing your YUMMY recipe! I added it to my cookbook and it has definitely found a home at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This would be a perfect low carb recipe if you substitute crushed pork rinds for the bread crumbs. Tastes great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Made a double batch for movie night(10 w/company included). Fried half in Canola Oil, bqaked half accoding to directions on store bought box. Served with marinara & pizza sauce. Everything gone. Oven just as good, sprayed them with Pam first to assure crispy. This isn't a staple, it's a treat just like strawberry shaorcake. Thank you mis7up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is a very good recipe. For those that are health conscious or are avoid fried foods. Prepare the cheese in the same manner but wrap with a wonton wrapper, brush with egg white wash and place in oven at 400 for about 10 min. Keep an eye on them so they don't over brown or explode. Very good and kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Fantastic! Better than restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States