Home-Fried Cheese Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I actually made this on a whim after I'd made marinara in the crockpot. What goes better with homemade marinara than fried cheese sticks? I cut this recipe back by half (I didn't want to use 2 1/2 eggs--I went ahead and just used three). I don't normally keep bread crumbs on hand, what I DID have was a couple bags of those Texas Toast croutons (free due to couponing!!!)--I ground them down to crumbs using my food processor. Other than that small change, I kept to the recipe. I did fry them in hot oil in my cast iron skillet. I made sure to watch the sticks and turn them just slightly with my tongs to make sure they browned evenly. Very simple. The boys thought this was the BEST. I swear, they had all of them gone in ten minutes. If that. Great recipe--it may not be an everyday indulgence but every now and then, it's nice to have some cheesy deep fried goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Good flavor but they fell apart while frying them. Still a very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Pretty good! Marinara sauce is a must with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is my review from when this was mis7up's personal recipe:I am finally rating these here! Perfect and delicious.....here is my review of Mis7up's recipe from another site.....cant wait to make these again!***Excellent! The double coating and freezing is a must....we just ate these as a snack and the kids loved 'em as well as DH and myself! Thanks Melissa! Will be making these again for sure***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These were delicious! The cheese stayed inside, mostly, and the breading was wonderful. Made some, froze some for next time. I'll be making this again for some house guests in a few days. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
With permission from Mis7up, I'm reviewing this recipe even though I used panko crumbs instead of bread crumbs. I normally steer from rating recipes I've made significant changes in; however I did let the cook know ahead of time. We simply prefer panko over Italiain bread crumbs and use them in every dish bread crumbs are called for. With that exception, I followed the recipe to a T and these turned out FANTASTIC. The freezing step is key- my batter hung on beautifully and fried up perfectly. The Italian bread crumbs have seasoning in them which the panko does not so if you use panko, consider adding some seasonings for punch. Either way, these are amazing. Thanks, Mis7up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Can't wait to try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyladee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is a very good recipe. For those that are health conscious or are avoid fried foods. Prepare the cheese in the same manner but wrap with a wonton wrapper, brush with egg white wash and place in oven at 400 for about 10 min. Keep an eye on them so they don't over brown or explode. Very good and kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great recipe btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvieWood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Severed Finger Cheese Sticks

See how to make a deeply disturbing, shockingly tasty Halloween treat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States