Holy Smoked Bacon and Mushroom Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Delicious, I would suggest a thicker sauce though and more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S Talbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I didn't measure anything, just cooked and added as it looked right to me. I added chopped fresh shallot with the garlic and some fresh, baby spinach at the end. Humble, simple, but extremely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I used only the ingredients listed, with one exception - I did not have fresh bacon on hand, but I had a package of cooked bacon pieces. I added them in after cooking the garlic and mushrooms in olive oil. After reading the reviews, and the concern about the amount of liquid, I channeled my younger (read: hamburger helper) days, and added the pasta raw, covered and reduced the heat, and simmered until the pasta was cooked. The liquid had reduced to 3-4 thickened tablespoons or so. The flavor of this dish is really good, even without the bacon grease adding flavor! Can't wait to make it again when I have fresh bacon to use. Very good recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
LOVED IT! Used egg noodles instead of Penne so had to strain out some of the juices at the end but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I had a very similar dish at a local Italian restaurant in our community. In addition to the bacon and mushroom added chicken, sundried tomatoes and served it with a sage brown butter sauce(fresh sage, chicken broth and butter) It was to die for and left me with a fullness that was very light and comfortable. Absolutely delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this dish, as did my husband and step daughter. I made a few minor adjustments. I added chopped onion and instead of 3 cups of chicken stock, I put 2 cups of beef stock and 1 cup of water. People were complaining of a lack of seasoning, so I added garlic and onion powders. Also, instead of Parmesan cheese, I put Mozzarella cheese. Turned out great, can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shamie J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
did add celery, onions, chicken and garlic.. yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3 boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This recipe is not great. I made adjustments as other reviews suggested. I added onions, chicken, and celery. I took out the previously cooked food before I added the stock so that they wouldn't get soggy. But the recipe still tasted like it was missing something. I wouldn't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was very tasty! I made it as-is, but would definitely follow some of the other readers comments next time. The reduction of the "sauce" (which wasn't a sauce, so don't be expecting that!) was the only ridiculous part of this recipe. There is no way that would have ever reduced to a few Tbsp. without turning my pasta to baby food. Here are the changes that I will make next time...1)I'm using MORE bacon...this is the main flavor in this dish, and we love bacon, so the more the merrier! 2) Either add flour or cornstarch to thicken the sauce or reduce the liquid. 3) A green veggie would be nice. I'm thinking the others had it right...either broccoli or asparagus. 4) Drain the bacon grease...at least drain most of it. 5) Remove the bacon and mushrooms after sauteeing and add them right before serving. I think after making these changes, we are definitely looking at a contender for a simple, easy, relatively inexpensive winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Bland - I ended up adding an alfredo sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States