Holy Smoked Bacon and Mushroom Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Yummy! I thought the finished product tasted like something from Olive Garden. It was very easy and inexpensive since I already had most of the ingredients. I only changed a couple of things. I used 1/3 pkg of bacon and drained about half the grease. It still had plenty of flavor. There was a lot of liquid so I turned up the heat really high to boil it off quickly, and I added some cornstarch dissolved in cold water at the end as I didn't want to wait. Next time I will add the cornstarch earlier and make a saucier meal. This would be great with chicken breasts in it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
this was excellent...I added baby spinach to the mixture...cooks quickly....company loved it...I made days ahead and just had to warm it up when family came!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Excellent! I couldn't believe how much flavor the penne picks up from the liquid. However, I would further recommend lean bacon, and if chicken stock isn't abailable, try mixing chicken boullion with 3C hot water; you won't have to use salt, if you add the right amount of boullion to water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Very good. This wasn't yet review when I tried it so I was scared...but very happy with the end results. I used Peppered Bacon, 2 cups homemade turkey broth and less pasta. It turned out great and I was pleased how the pasta soaked up all the flavor while it simmered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This recipe received rave reviews at my house. I added onions as well. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
This dish is DELICIOUS!!! It is now my boyfriends favorite. I sprinkled some chopped green onions on top and added crushed red pepper for a little flavor. I get request for this pasta all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I made this last night and it turned out great. I would just add a reminder to cut the bacon into pieces before cooking. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Yummy, yummy recipe!! To make the recipe a little easier I add uncooked pasta directly to the cooked bacon and mushroom mixture, cover and steam for about 20 minutes. At this time I also add some broccoli. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
After cooking the bacon drain off a small amount of the grease - also take the bacon out and crumble over the top of the pasta with the parmesan (stays crispy this way) I add sun dried tomatoes and some fresh chopped spinach - add onions too - AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
After reading the other reviews, I made the following changes: In a skillet, I cooked the bacon with 1 chopped onion, then added the garlic & mushrooms (turkey bacon, so no draining needed). In another pot, I cooked the pasta in a blend of 3 cans of chicken broth, 1T. olive oil, and 1 t. liquid smoke. When the pasta was cooked, almost all of the liquid was absorbed (about 16 min.). I then stirred in 1/2 lb. of fresh grated parmesan and the bacon blend. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States