Holy Smoked Bacon and Mushroom Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Very good. This wasn't yet review when I tried it so I was scared...but very happy with the end results. I used Peppered Bacon, 2 cups homemade turkey broth and less pasta. It turned out great and I was pleased how the pasta soaked up all the flavor while it simmered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This recipe received rave reviews at my house. I added onions as well. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
This dish is DELICIOUS!!! It is now my boyfriends favorite. I sprinkled some chopped green onions on top and added crushed red pepper for a little flavor. I get request for this pasta all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I made this last night and it turned out great. I would just add a reminder to cut the bacon into pieces before cooking. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
this was excellent...I added baby spinach to the mixture...cooks quickly....company loved it...I made days ahead and just had to warm it up when family came!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Excellent! I couldn't believe how much flavor the penne picks up from the liquid. However, I would further recommend lean bacon, and if chicken stock isn't abailable, try mixing chicken boullion with 3C hot water; you won't have to use salt, if you add the right amount of boullion to water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Yummy! I thought the finished product tasted like something from Olive Garden. It was very easy and inexpensive since I already had most of the ingredients. I only changed a couple of things. I used 1/3 pkg of bacon and drained about half the grease. It still had plenty of flavor. There was a lot of liquid so I turned up the heat really high to boil it off quickly, and I added some cornstarch dissolved in cold water at the end as I didn't want to wait. Next time I will add the cornstarch earlier and make a saucier meal. This would be great with chicken breasts in it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Green

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Yummy, yummy recipe!! To make the recipe a little easier I add uncooked pasta directly to the cooked bacon and mushroom mixture, cover and steam for about 20 minutes. At this time I also add some broccoli. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
After cooking the bacon drain off a small amount of the grease - also take the bacon out and crumble over the top of the pasta with the parmesan (stays crispy this way) I add sun dried tomatoes and some fresh chopped spinach - add onions too - AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
After reading the other reviews, I made the following changes: In a skillet, I cooked the bacon with 1 chopped onion, then added the garlic & mushrooms (turkey bacon, so no draining needed). In another pot, I cooked the pasta in a blend of 3 cans of chicken broth, 1T. olive oil, and 1 t. liquid smoke. When the pasta was cooked, almost all of the liquid was absorbed (about 16 min.). I then stirred in 1/2 lb. of fresh grated parmesan and the bacon blend. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States