Holy Smoked Bacon and Mushroom Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Good base recipe. But after reading the reivews about reduction and soggy bacon, I took the ingredients and did my own thing. Here's what I did: Crisped the bacon in a pan and removed. Dumped all but a Tbs of grease and fried mushrooms in pan for a minute. Added 1/4 cup of chicken stock and scraped up the bacon bits. Added broccoli* and garlic* and covered to steam veggies. Added very al dente pasta to pan and 1/2 cup more chicken stock. Reduced by half and finished w/ a dash of cream and some parmesan. Then I sprinkled the bacon on top and served with more parmesan. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
My son and I LOVED this recipe! The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is that my husband found it lacking in flavor (his taste buds must be on vacation). I did add onion as previously suggested. Next time I do think I will add some diced chicken and replace some of the broth with white wine to add some more flavor. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This was fanatastic. I was looking for a different pasta recipe to have for dinner and stumbled on this. I saw that Kez, a good friend made it and enjoyed it and decided I had to try it. I cooked the bacon first then took it out and added onion in with the 'shrooms and I used some roasted garlic I had on hand. After they began to get tender I added a bit of flour before I put the chicken broth in. I added the bacon back into it with the pasta and mixed in some Parmesan cheese. My hubby said next time add some asparagus I think that will be great! Thanks Onyx78 for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I didn't measure anything, just cooked and added as it looked right to me. I added chopped fresh shallot with the garlic and some fresh, baby spinach at the end. Humble, simple, but extremely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised by this dish. I thought it might be a bit bland it wasn't. After reading the reviews I removed bacon and mushroom from the pan before adding the stock and used less of the stock, when the stock had reduced I put the bacon and mushrooms back and let it warm through. When serving I sprinkled a small amount of parmesan on top. My husband pulled faces when I told him what I was making but he enjoyed it more than I did and I liked it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this dish, as did my husband and step daughter. I made a few minor adjustments. I added chopped onion and instead of 3 cups of chicken stock, I put 2 cups of beef stock and 1 cup of water. People were complaining of a lack of seasoning, so I added garlic and onion powders. Also, instead of Parmesan cheese, I put Mozzarella cheese. Turned out great, can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shamie J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
did add celery, onions, chicken and garlic.. yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3 boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was very tasty! I made it as-is, but would definitely follow some of the other readers comments next time. The reduction of the "sauce" (which wasn't a sauce, so don't be expecting that!) was the only ridiculous part of this recipe. There is no way that would have ever reduced to a few Tbsp. without turning my pasta to baby food. Here are the changes that I will make next time...1)I'm using MORE bacon...this is the main flavor in this dish, and we love bacon, so the more the merrier! 2) Either add flour or cornstarch to thicken the sauce or reduce the liquid. 3) A green veggie would be nice. I'm thinking the others had it right...either broccoli or asparagus. 4) Drain the bacon grease...at least drain most of it. 5) Remove the bacon and mushrooms after sauteeing and add them right before serving. I think after making these changes, we are definitely looking at a contender for a simple, easy, relatively inexpensive winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I think this could have turned out better if it wasn't all mixed together and simmered until the stock was reduced, the bacon and mushrooms lost their crispiness from being sauteed and the pasta got mushy. And I only used 2 of the 3 cups of stock. I also added a lot more Parmesan cheese to thicken the sauce up a little bit. Concept was good, just didn't turn out as well as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Very good. This wasn't yet review when I tried it so I was scared...but very happy with the end results. I used Peppered Bacon, 2 cups homemade turkey broth and less pasta. It turned out great and I was pleased how the pasta soaked up all the flavor while it simmered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States