Holy Smoked Bacon and Mushroom Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Yummy! I thought the finished product tasted like something from Olive Garden. It was very easy and inexpensive since I already had most of the ingredients. I only changed a couple of things. I used 1/3 pkg of bacon and drained about half the grease. It still had plenty of flavor. There was a lot of liquid so I turned up the heat really high to boil it off quickly, and I added some cornstarch dissolved in cold water at the end as I didn't want to wait. Next time I will add the cornstarch earlier and make a saucier meal. This would be great with chicken breasts in it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This just didn't do it for us. I thought it was OK, maybe a 3, but my wife would give it a 1, and only because no zero is available. She took two or three bites and said, "I just can't eat this."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
We were disappointed with this recipe! Thought it would turn out great but it didn't! 3 cups of chicken stock is way too much! Will give it another try with only 2 cups of chicken stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I think this could have turned out better if it wasn't all mixed together and simmered until the stock was reduced, the bacon and mushrooms lost their crispiness from being sauteed and the pasta got mushy. And I only used 2 of the 3 cups of stock. I also added a lot more Parmesan cheese to thicken the sauce up a little bit. Concept was good, just didn't turn out as well as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
We really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to make and tasty too. I cooked the bacon in the microwave to try to reduce the amount of grease left in the pan. I also cooked the garlic in olive oil first, then added the bacon and mushrooms to that. Then, I added 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 c (or so) of white wine. I did find that the mixture took a very long time to reduce... I just mixed it all in when the pasta was done. So, our sauce was a little watery. Thanks, Onyx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Excellent! I couldn't believe how much flavor the penne picks up from the liquid. However, I would further recommend lean bacon, and if chicken stock isn't abailable, try mixing chicken boullion with 3C hot water; you won't have to use salt, if you add the right amount of boullion to water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
this was excellent...I added baby spinach to the mixture...cooks quickly....company loved it...I made days ahead and just had to warm it up when family came!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I was pretty pleased with this. I added green onion to it. Doubled the "sauce" part and threw in some corn starch to thicken it at the end. My wife prefers thick sauces. I thought it was great. While I couldn't taste the "smoked" flavor of the bacon throughout the pasta, I did when I ate it :) And yes cutting the bacon up before you start is a must. I did that and had no problems but I can imagine it would have been a tad messy if I hadn't. Did not notice too much grease in it either. I took a 1lb package of bacon and used exactly half of it. Turned out perfect I thought. My daughter had 3rds, my son ate every bit of a huge helping. That told me plenty. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
this was a good recipe except that i made a few changes. i added some chopped onions and used turkey bacon instead of regular bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Although delicous, too much bacon grease in the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States