Holy Smoked Bacon and Mushroom Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
After reading the other reviews, I made the following changes: In a skillet, I cooked the bacon with 1 chopped onion, then added the garlic & mushrooms (turkey bacon, so no draining needed). In another pot, I cooked the pasta in a blend of 3 cans of chicken broth, 1T. olive oil, and 1 t. liquid smoke. When the pasta was cooked, almost all of the liquid was absorbed (about 16 min.). I then stirred in 1/2 lb. of fresh grated parmesan and the bacon blend. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Disappointing at best. Too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was certainly full of foods I love but for some reason the flavors just didn't come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I wasn't all that impressed with this.My biggest complaint with this is the greasiness...even after draining all the bacon grease.The flavor was there but little else.If it wasn't for the bacon,this would be really bland.I doubt that I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I did enjoy this but do have to agree the bacon flavor was a little lost in the end. (I even kept the grease). also added frozen asparagus to the pasta, but I had to simmer the sauce for at least 10 minutes so it was mushy. I added the parmesean to the pasta when finished then served with more. Made the sauce thicken a little more. this is what i expected it to be...good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
After cooking the bacon drain off a small amount of the grease - also take the bacon out and crumble over the top of the pasta with the parmesan (stays crispy this way) I add sun dried tomatoes and some fresh chopped spinach - add onions too - AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Although my husband liked this recipe I found it pretty bland and watery. Would probably only make again if I had a lot of mushrooms I wanted to get rid of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was pretty good. I did change it a bit the second time I made it by adding onion, broccoli and chicken, instead of penne. It's a mix of textures, so it's quite interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This was a nice quick meal. I cooked the pasta, then the bacon/shroom/garlic/(and I added) onion mixture. To that I added 2 cups broth. I combined 2 Tbs of cornstarch in a 1/2 cup white wine and added that. When thickened, toss with the pasta. Nothing came out soggy for me. Seasoned with S&P and parmesan. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Yummy, yummy recipe!! To make the recipe a little easier I add uncooked pasta directly to the cooked bacon and mushroom mixture, cover and steam for about 20 minutes. At this time I also add some broccoli. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States