Holy Smoked Bacon and Mushroom Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was a really good and simple meal. Very light and tasty. I made it pretty much as written except I added more garlic. I agree with cookinme that asparagus would be a wonderful addition, and I also think that next time I would replace some of the chicken stock with white wine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I took the ladies suggestions and cooked the bacon, removed it, browned the chicken, removed it, added mushrooms, store bought roasted garlic, added the 2 cups chicken stock, one cup white wine, 3/4# penne pasta, some red pepper flakes cooked for 5 minutes, put broccolli in 5 minutes, put chicken back in, cooked about 5 minutes until sauce was absorbed, sprinkled bacon on top and served. Parmesan cheese on the table. Didn't think it would be great, but it was delicous, one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made this recipe the same way. My husband love it. He would have it again. Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
If I could give this recipe ten stars I would. My wife loves this dish, and I think she'd eat it once a week if she could. This is comfort food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is a tasty recipe. I didn't use as much cheese as it called for, but the flavor was plentiful. Next time I'll try a different pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This was fanatastic. I was looking for a different pasta recipe to have for dinner and stumbled on this. I saw that Kez, a good friend made it and enjoyed it and decided I had to try it. I cooked the bacon first then took it out and added onion in with the 'shrooms and I used some roasted garlic I had on hand. After they began to get tender I added a bit of flour before I put the chicken broth in. I added the bacon back into it with the pasta and mixed in some Parmesan cheese. My hubby said next time add some asparagus I think that will be great! Thanks Onyx78 for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This wasn't bad and maybe with some fine tuning it could be a keeper. But I made it as written with the exception of all the bacon grease. Just doesn't quite make the 4 or 5 star level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised by this dish. I thought it might be a bit bland it wasn't. After reading the reviews I removed bacon and mushroom from the pan before adding the stock and used less of the stock, when the stock had reduced I put the bacon and mushrooms back and let it warm through. When serving I sprinkled a small amount of parmesan on top. My husband pulled faces when I told him what I was making but he enjoyed it more than I did and I liked it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Good base recipe. But after reading the reivews about reduction and soggy bacon, I took the ingredients and did my own thing. Here's what I did: Crisped the bacon in a pan and removed. Dumped all but a Tbs of grease and fried mushrooms in pan for a minute. Added 1/4 cup of chicken stock and scraped up the bacon bits. Added broccoli* and garlic* and covered to steam veggies. Added very al dente pasta to pan and 1/2 cup more chicken stock. Reduced by half and finished w/ a dash of cream and some parmesan. Then I sprinkled the bacon on top and served with more parmesan. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
We enjoyed this very much! I did make some of the suggested changes - 2 cups of chicken broth and 1/2 cup of white wine, and I undercooked everything so it would finish cooking as the sauce reduced. By keeping the heat on medium, the didn't take long to reduce at all. Really gorgeous flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States