Holy Smoked Bacon and Mushroom Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Easy, tasty, will prepare again:) I added onion to enhance the flavour and I also added some flour to aid in the thickening of the sauce. This was quite good. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
The bacon is all the dish. I only had 2 pices to put in so i thought just less is ok with some bacon bits in it. NO WAY this thing need lots of bacon. i used white wine witch helped but what also helped was 1/2 a can of cream of mushroom soup. It helped thicken it. mmmm, However the hole cooking off the liquid is not fun use 1/2 that is told to. i used 1/2 cup white wine, 1/2 cup of cream of mushroom soup and 1/2 cup of the chicken. Hope i helped:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lemont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I don't think I made the same recipe you all did, I was very dissapointed in this! I love bacon/mushrooms/penne so I thought this would be great. I just didn't enjoy this. Sorry, won't make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This was better than I expected for such few ingredients. changes 1) turkey bacon not regular bacon makes this recipe a bit more artery friendly 2) I added cabbage that I had left over and it was really tasty!! 3) whole wheat penne Not a for company recipe- but a very good week night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I had high hopes for this recipe based on the other reviews, but for some reason it just didn't work for me. The 3 cups of broth took FOREVER to boil off, even on the highest setting, and I ended up with very watery tasting pasta, mushrooms & bacon. I followed the recipe exactly but wont' be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGAKISES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Good pasta dish. I had to add a little Wondra to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyKaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
we really enjoyed this. added chopped onions, drained the grease from pan and added some garlic. will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
My family loved this recipe. My husband said he would eat this all of the time and he kept going back for more. Even my 2 year old twins ate it. I followed the actual recipe. It's even good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I prepared this recipe as written and my family and I thought it was bland. Not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was a really good and simple meal. Very light and tasty. I made it pretty much as written except I added more garlic. I agree with cookinme that asparagus would be a wonderful addition, and I also think that next time I would replace some of the chicken stock with white wine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States