Holuski Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Very tasty. I hesitated, having to use 3 different types of cooking containers, but it sure was worth it. I will make it again soon. I'm Croatian and find Czech recipes close to my nationalities cooking. Good Job, Kimberly. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Really surprisingly tasty! I had some leftover cabbage in the fridge, and so I decided to give this recipe a go. I don't like onions, myself, so I omitted them and added a few red pepper flakes to add some zest. Fabulous! And Really easy to make, too. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I have always LOVED this recipe, maybe because I am Czech, however my Babi (who is a Czech immigrant) has never prepared it for me. The taste for this dish must be in my blood! I always fry the onion and cabbage together instead of steaming the cabbage... to me it tastes better this way, and you don't have an extra pot to clean. I always eat it with a dollop of sour cream on top... adds a creamy texture. So simple, yet SO delicious! My very American boyfriend loves it, too (although he likes it with Cheddar on the top). Prosim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Have made this for many years, but I always saute the onions and cabbage together until they are a bit carmelized and browned... more flavor, less work. The salt and pepper are key. The kind of food my Croatian mother cooked, simple but delicious and a great change of pace from potatoes or rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
We LOVE Halushki(how we spell it)! This has been a staple in our house since before I was born- now my kids love it too! In order for this dish to taste SUPREME you have to fry the cabbage with the onion. In fact I put the cabbage in the pan for about 10 minutes before I add the onion. Let the cabbage lightly brown for the most tasty result. Egg noodles are great but you can use Farfalle, Rotini or Elbows. ENJOY this comfort food! We tend to use a lot of pepper and salt for this recipe as well as garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
One of the most unique and delicious Czech dishes that I have tasted. My Czech/Ukrainian version is a bit different - it includes diced bacon and browned sourkraut. Always receives fantastic compliments from those who try it for the first time. Rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Kimberly -- yummie. Reminds me of wedding receptions in western Pennsylvania where I grew up. I sometimes use sauerkraut too, like the other reviewer. But my polish grandmother always used the cabbage and a ton of pepper. I am looking for a recipe to make the noodles homemade. If you have one, please post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was just perfect - we loved it! We served with sauerbraten meatballs (from this site), it made a wonderful Sunday night supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Fantastic! I made a big ol' pot of this stuff and I'm really glad I did! Delicious! It tasted just as good the next day, and the next day, and the next day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Plain and simple comfort food. We're not Czech, but this is so good. I too sauteed the cabbage with the onions, and I fried up some turkey polish sausages and mixed it in with the noodles. I only seasoned with salt and pepper, but next time I might add some red pepper flakes or paprika. Anyway, thanks for the simple recipe, we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States