Holuski Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Hubby really loved this but I did take others advice and doctored it up with sliced kielbasa and more seasonings. It doesn't get much easier than this. Thank you Kimberly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Plain and simple comfort food. We're not Czech, but this is so good. I too sauteed the cabbage with the onions, and I fried up some turkey polish sausages and mixed it in with the noodles. I only seasoned with salt and pepper, but next time I might add some red pepper flakes or paprika. Anyway, thanks for the simple recipe, we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I love this classic Czech dish. So simple, cheap and comforting. However, I do agree that you should definitely sauté the cabbage along with the onion instead of steaming it separately. Also, the addition of a dollop of sour cream can't be beat. For a heartier dish with additional flavor, we also love to add some sliced kielbasa to sauté in with the onion and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Good basic recipe. Easy to make, too. A little bland (although I did saute onions and cabagge together), but that comes with the cuisine. Overall, it's a good dish for those who don't like a lot of herbs/spices. I added tomatoes and bay leaf and let everything cook together, and, in my opinion, it was much better. But then, again, I'm not Czech! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Have made this for many years, but I always saute the onions and cabbage together until they are a bit carmelized and browned... more flavor, less work. The salt and pepper are key. The kind of food my Croatian mother cooked, simple but delicious and a great change of pace from potatoes or rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Very good! I added some red pepper and lite sour cream to the top of mine and it was awesome! Without the sour cream it was kind of bland. I also didn't add any onions, b/c my husband hates them, and I used smart balance margarine instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was just perfect - we loved it! We served with sauerbraten meatballs (from this site), it made a wonderful Sunday night supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Easy to throw together last minute, but could be helped with the addition of other vegetables (for color/presentation) and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Really surprisingly tasty! I had some leftover cabbage in the fridge, and so I decided to give this recipe a go. I don't like onions, myself, so I omitted them and added a few red pepper flakes to add some zest. Fabulous! And Really easy to make, too. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I have always LOVED this recipe, maybe because I am Czech, however my Babi (who is a Czech immigrant) has never prepared it for me. The taste for this dish must be in my blood! I always fry the onion and cabbage together instead of steaming the cabbage... to me it tastes better this way, and you don't have an extra pot to clean. I always eat it with a dollop of sour cream on top... adds a creamy texture. So simple, yet SO delicious! My very American boyfriend loves it, too (although he likes it with Cheddar on the top). Prosim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States