Holuski Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This holuski is excellent. My mother said it was better than her's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I love, love, love halushki...takes me back to my Western Pennsylvania / Ukrainian roots. However, my father and his family always added either bacon or "fatback" to this recipe. It makes it even more amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I make this at home all the time only I fry up an entire package of bacon first then coat the cabbage in the renderings until it wilts. I finshes with the cooked egg noodles. I've never tried it with the onion or sourcream... Maybe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HottieCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
A favorite of us Western PA folks! Around here its not holuski if its not dripping in butter. 1/4 cup is NOT enough, unless you want to be eating plain cooked noodles. Start with at least 1 stick of SALTED butter to saute the onions. Use a stock pot when doing this and add the cabbage a little at a time cause it won't cook down in a timely fashion if you add it all at once. Add the noodles into the cabbage and stir in pot and add more butter as needed until it's all coated to your liking. I usually use a total of 1 1/2 sticks to 2 sticks of salted butter. This is also how my Czech grandmother made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenD2006RN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Versailles, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Absolutely delicious!!! My spouse I and enjoyed this dish so much that after finishing off the first batch, it was requested for dinner the next day! I fried the cabbage and added 4 cloves of garlic and garlic powder. I will get much use out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Awhile back - I made Bubble n Squeak from this site - which is essentially fried cabbage and ham and my family loved it. When I saw this - I was excited b/c adding noodles makes that cabbage "go farther." As written - I think it needs more seasonings - and although I added some onion/garlic powders to the cabbage saute (AND took the advice of adding kielbasa) - it still needed a little more "BAM!" I would make this again - it's very economical, super easy and a fast meal to put together and it IS tasty - but next time, I'll just be more liberal with the powders - OR maybe use more cabbage? I used a bag of the pre-cut coleslaw and it still seemed like the noodle to cabbage ratio was too high - remember cabbage seems to shrink by half once cooked...maybe I just need more cabbage and less noodles? Most of the taste is coming from the cabbage anyways. Either way - plan to keep to play around with. Thanks Kimberly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is a pretty traditional recipe, my mother-in-law was slovak, the family all grew up on holushki, still a special reunion trest! At home, we throw in sliced smoked sausage for a complete meal, Norma would never have allowed that, but it's easy and yummy! Definately saute the cabbage and add the onions, it adds a different dimension to the dish! We always use the kluski noodles or frozen Reames, they hold up well and add a better flavor than egg noodles to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I gave this a 4 star rating because I was the only one in my family who liked it. I am of Irish/German heritage and I thought it was a great comfort food. I used a red cabbage and added a pound of bulk italian sausage. I also used frozen egg noodles. I did put sour cream on my serving and thought it complimented it well. Just wish my husband and kids would have liked it. They ate sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Great - didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
We LOVE Halushki(how we spell it)! This has been a staple in our house since before I was born- now my kids love it too! In order for this dish to taste SUPREME you have to fry the cabbage with the onion. In fact I put the cabbage in the pan for about 10 minutes before I add the onion. Let the cabbage lightly brown for the most tasty result. Egg noodles are great but you can use Farfalle, Rotini or Elbows. ENJOY this comfort food! We tend to use a lot of pepper and salt for this recipe as well as garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States